Bankura Assembly Election 2021

Bankura Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 32 Lok Sabha segments in West Bengal state, goes to the polls in the sixth phase of general elections 2019 on May 12.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Suchitra Sen, Moon Moon Sen

2016 Suchitra Sen, Moon Moon Sen

  • Suchitra Sen, Moon Moon SenTMC

Dr Subhas Sarkar

2021 Dr Subhas Sarkar

  • Dr Subhas SarkarBJP

About Bankura

Bankura, famous for its terracotta works, will vote in the sixth phase of the 17th Lok Sabha election. This Lok Sabha constituency has six segments-Raghunathpur, Saltora, Chhatna, Raipur, Taldangra, Bankura and Ranibandh. 

This time Trinamool Congress (TMC) party has fielded Subrata Mukherjee for the Bankura seat. CPI (M) contender Amiya Patra and BJP candidate Dr. Subhash Sarkar will also contest from the seat. 

In 2014 general election, Bengali screen legend and the daughter of popular Bengali actress Suchitra Sen, Moon Moon Sen had won the seat. Ms Sen had defeated CPI (M) candidate Basudeb Acharia, nine-time MP from Bankura seat, by a margin of 98,506 votes. While Moon Moon Sen had got 4,83,455 votes Basudeb Acharia had received 3,84,949 seats.

This year Ms Sen will be contesting from the Asansol seat. Singer-turned-MP Babul Supriyo will also contest from the Asansol seat with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket.

Ms Sen had contested the 2014 general election under the name of Sreemati Dev Verma. She is the wife of Bharat Dev Verma.

From 1952-1962 Congress contenders had won the Bankura seat. In 1967, CPI's J.M. Biswas won the seat. In 1977 BLD contender had won this seat.

Get Breaking News and Latest Updates from India and around the world on NDTV.COM
Delhi Election 2020: Follow NDTV for election results and live analysis

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................
Listen to the latest songs, only on