Opinion: Why India Abstained At UN Vote On Russia

Opinion: Why India Abstained At UN Vote On Russia

Maya Mirchandani | Saturday February 26, 2022

The clear act of war by Russia, as its forces moved beyond the rebel Ukrainian provinces of Donetsk and Luhansk and entered the capital Kiev, marks one of the biggest military invasions in Europe since World War 2 - and for India

On Board Air India Flight That Never Made It To Ukraine

On Board Air India Flight That Never Made It To Ukraine

Vishnu Som | Thursday February 24, 2022

Ukraine-Russia crisis: It's not often that any airline flies a 256-seat jetliner commercially with just eight passengers on board. But this is different.

Blog: I Didn't Think I'd Leave The ICU Alive

Blog: I Didn't Think I'd Leave The ICU Alive

Shashank Singh | Monday February 21, 2022

2022. Last year I feared I wouldn't be witnessing it at all. But here I am. New year, a new life and a new belief that the worst is over. I am a Covid survivor - I think I can say that now.

Blog: Living In Constant Fear, Story Of An Indian Student In Ukraine

Blog: Living In Constant Fear, Story Of An Indian Student In Ukraine

Harsh Goel | Monday February 21, 2022

With tensions between Ukraine and Russia rising, Indian students in Ukraine have families that are worried sick.

Blog: Punjab - Has AAP Finally Come Of Age?

Blog: Punjab - Has AAP Finally Come Of Age?

IP Bajpai | Saturday February 19, 2022

Punjab is a state where the BJP hasn't mattered much, and the Congress and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) matter a lot.

Blog: Rural UP's Biggest Election Issue - The Mighty Bull

Blog: Rural UP's Biggest Election Issue - The Mighty Bull

Sanket Upadhyay | Saturday February 19, 2022

Our assessment, based on our travels in the rural pockets of Rampur, Etawah, Mainpuri, Shahjahanpur, Bareilly and Kanpur Dehat, is that one issue remains a constant - the Bull.

Dear Ma'am, Don't Do This, I Say With Folded Hands - By Ravish Kumar

Dear Ma'am, Don't Do This, I Say With Folded Hands - By Ravish Kumar

Ravish Kumar | Saturday February 19, 2022

We won't be able to look our children in the eye if we don't learn to identify the merchants of hatred among us and stop those infected by it.

Blog: Alia At Berlin Is 50 Shades Of White - And Wow

Blog: Alia At Berlin Is 50 Shades Of White - And Wow

Jyotsna Mohan Bhargava | Friday February 18, 2022

Alia walked the white just right and her consistent minimalistic look, interchanging between shades of white, was on point without being over the top.

Blog: The Legend Of Kasganj And Who Wins UP

Blog: The Legend Of Kasganj And Who Wins UP

Sanket Upadhyay | Wednesday February 16, 2022

Kasganj, a small town in West-Central Uttar Pradesh, has a unique history. The party that wins Kasganj takes power in Lucknow. Barring aberrations, this has been the tradition for four decades. The town votes in Phase 3 of the UP election on Sunday.

Blog: Angry Voters And Divided Opposition In Goa. Who Will Win?

Blog: Angry Voters And Divided Opposition In Goa. Who Will Win?

IP Bajpai | Saturday February 12, 2022

Our little village in Goa is very quiet, full of nature sounds - birds chirping, dogs barking. The only manmade sounds are church bells at dawn, the honk of the pohawallah, the fishwallah, and the occasional two-wheeler passing by.

Blog: In UP's Polarisation Laboratory, Decoding A Lower Voter Turnout

Blog: In UP's Polarisation Laboratory, Decoding A Lower Voter Turnout

Sanket Upadhyay | Saturday February 12, 2022

Despite an increase in the number of voters, the polling percentage in the 58 seats was around 60 percent, down 2 percent in comparison to 2017.

The Modi Government's Project Of Erasure - by Rajmohan Gandhi

The Modi Government's Project Of Erasure - by Rajmohan Gandhi

Rajmohan Gandhi | Friday February 11, 2022

"Sabka Saath" is indeed a phrase he and others in the government often repeat, but it is worth noting that Modi recites "Sabka Saath" as something he desires or expects, not something he pledges or offers.

Opinion: The Key To India's Biggest Election? Jobs, Jobs, Jobs

Opinion: The Key To India's Biggest Election? Jobs, Jobs, Jobs

Mihir Sharma, Bloomberg | Friday February 11, 2022

Voting has begun in crucial state-level elections in India which will shape Prime Minister Narendra Modi's choices for the remainder of his second term in office. Of the five states going to the polls, one clearly matters more than the others.

Opinion: Is Wearing Hijab On Campus A Law And Order Issue?

Opinion: Is Wearing Hijab On Campus A Law And Order Issue?

Brinda Karat | Thursday February 10, 2022

The happenings in BJP-ruled Karnataka as the " hijab controversy" is misleading. It is nothing of the kind. It is an outright assault on the right to education of young Muslim women, guaranteed to them by the law and the Constitution of India.

Opinion: PM-<I>ji</I> Since You Are So Obsessed With Nehru, Consider This

Opinion: PM-ji Since You Are So Obsessed With Nehru, Consider This

Priyanka Chaturvedi | Thursday February 10, 2022

As is protocol, Prime Minister of India replied to the Motion of Thanks in both Houses of Parliament; however, his speech did not seem like that of the first citizen of India but more as a politician who is concerned about the outcome of elections.