LIVE Kottayam Lok Sabha Results

Kottayam Lok Sabha constituency, one of the total 20 Lok Sabha segments in Kerala state, goes to the polls in the third phase of general elections 2019 on April 23.  

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Jose K. Mani

2014 Jose K. Mani

  • Jose K. Mani?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgKECM

Thomas Chazhikadan

2019 Thomas Chazhikadan

  • Thomas ChazhikadanKECM

About Kottayam

The land of letters, latex and lakes, the Kottayam will go to polls on April 23 in the third phase of 17th Lok Sabha election. The Kottayam Lok Sabha constituency consists of Piravom, Pala, Kaduthuruthy, Vaikom, Ettumanoor, Kottayam and Puthuppally. A total of 1177931 voters are expected to exercise their franchise in this constituency which had a voter turnout of 71.67% in 2014 general election. 

14024 votes were given under NOTA option last time.

Out of 15 nominations were filed to contest in this constituency however only 7 candidates are contesting the election after 8 nominations were rejected by the Election Commission of India.

Kottayam is a CPI (M) stronghold and a Kerala Congress (Mani) forte' as well. Congress' influence in this seat can't be ignored too. The Congress party has won the seat 6 times, while ruling party Kerala Congress (Mani) has been victorious for 2 consecutive terms. 

In 2009 Jose K Mani, the son of Kerala Congress (Mani) stalwart KM Mani, won the Kottayam seat and retained the seat for the second time in 2014. However Jose K Mani left the seat for the Rajya Sabha and since then the Kottayam seat has been vacant.

This time, Kerala Congress (Mani) is fielding Thomas Chazhikadan as its MP candidate. 

Kerala Congress party which had won the seat for three consecutive terms in 1971, 1977 and 1980 has nominated Adv. P.C Thomas for the Kottayam seat. 

VN Vasavan is contesting for the Kottayam seat with CPI (M) ticket.



Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................