Rajeev Kumar Appointed As New Kolkata Police Commissioner

Rajeev Kumar Appointed As New Kolkata Police Commissioner

Kolkata Police headquarters. (Representational photo)

Kolkata: In a major reshuffle in the IPS cadre in West Bengal, Additional Director General of Police, CID, Rajeev Kumar, has been appointed as new Kolkata Police Commissioner replacing Surajit Kar Purakayastha.

A 1989 batch IPS officer, Mr Kumar had earlier worked as Commissioner of Police, Bidhannagar Police Commissionerate and as Special Task Force (STF) chief under Kolkata Police.

Following Mr Kumar's appointment to the top post in city police, Mr Purakayastha, 1985 batch IPS officer, has been transferred on promotion as Director General of Police (CID), state Home Department officials said in Kolkata today.

Besides, ten other senior IPS officers were also transferred to different posts in the state.

Among them, Special CP(I) in Kolkata Police, Soumen Mitra, has been transferred as ADG (CID), while IGP(II) CID, Vineet Kumar Goyal, has been transferred as Additional CP(I) in Kolkata Police.

Besides, Additional CP(I) in Kolkata Police, R Shivakumar, has been asked to take over as Additional CP(II) in the same force, while Additional CP(II) in Kolkata Police, Rajeev Mishra, would take over as Additional CP(III) in the same force.

West Midnapore SP, Bharati Ghosh, has been asked to take over as OSD, LWE (Operational in the rank of SP), while EFR Commandant (Ist Battalion) BV Chandra Sekhar would take over as SP, West Midnapore district, the officers added.