NDA Announces Seat Sharing In Bihar; Congress Leaves 7 Seats In UP: Highlights

Lok Sabha election: In Bihar, the grand alliance led by Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) is likely to announce seat sharing today.

NDA Announces Seat Sharing In Bihar; Congress Leaves 7 Seats In UP: Highlights

Lok Sabha Election: The BJP met to deliberate on candidates in various constituencies. (PTI)

New Delhi:

The ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) has sealed seats with its allies in Bihar for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. According to the agreement, the Janata Dal-United and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will contest 17 seats each while the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will contest from six seats.

In neighbouring UP, Congress has left seven seats including Mainpuri, from where Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav is contesting, for the Mayawati-Akhilesh Yadav alliance. Kannauj, where his daughter-in-law Dimple Yadav is expected to run, and seats on which Rashtriya Lok Dal's Ajit Singh and Jayant Chaudhary will fight and any seat that that Mayawati chooses to contest, Congress leader Raj Babbar announced.

Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Congress's in-charge in eastern Uttar Pradesh, is scheduled to visit Lucknow today. and will reach Prayagraj by evening. In her second visit after being appointed the party's general secretary, she is likely to spend four days in the state. 

Meanwhile, former IAS officer Shah Faesal will launch his political outfit 'Jammu and Kashmir People's Movement' at a function in Rajbagh area of the city today. The 2010 batch UPSC topper resigned from the Indian Administrative Service (IAS) in January this year.

Here are the Highlights on developments related to Lok Sabha elections:

Mar 17, 2019 18:21 (IST)
National Conference chief Omar Abdullah today said his party has received a proposal for alliance in Jammu and Kashmir from the Congress for the coming Lok Sabha polls. "We have told them clearly that only National Conference candidates will be there on the three seats in the Kashmir Valley," he was quoted as saying by news agency IANS. "If it suits them (Congress), then we can talk about other seats. Let's see what response we receive," Mr Abdullah has said. Jammu and Kashmir has six Lok Sabha seats.
Mar 17, 2019 18:05 (IST)
Lok Sabha Election 2019: Days After Priyanka Gandhi Visit, Bhim Army Snubs Congress

Days after Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra met Dalit leader Chandrashekhar Azad, the latter's outfit said today that it will not support the Congress for the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh."
Mar 17, 2019 16:51 (IST)
A meeting of BJP manifesto committee is underway at Home Minister Rajnath Singh's residence in Delhi for the party's national manifesto or 'Sankalp Patra'.
Mar 17, 2019 16:20 (IST)
Mar 17, 2019 15:37 (IST)
The Congress will not contest in seven of the 80 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh. The party said that it left the seat for the Samajwadi Party and Mayawati's Bahujan Samajwadi Party.

The Congress will not field a candidate in Mainpuri - the seat from where Samajwadi Party's Mulayam is contesting. Kannauj, which is held by Akhilesh Yadav's wife, Dimple, will also not see a contest from the Congress.
Mar 17, 2019 15:08 (IST)
Mar 17, 2019 14:37 (IST)
Balbir Singh Jakhar to be AAP's West Delhi candidate for Lok Sabha. With this, we have now announced candidates for all the seven seats in Delhi.
Mar 17, 2019 14:09 (IST)
Mar 17, 2019 13:10 (IST)

AAP likely to announce seventh candidate today. Advocate BS Jakhar to be the seventh candidate.
Mar 17, 2019 12:08 (IST)
AIADMK to contest 20 seats in Tamil Nadu

The AIADMK has finalised seat sharing agreement with the BJP in Tamil Nadu. The party is likely to contest in 20 seats in the state, while its allies will contest in the remaining seats.

AIADMK will contest in Chennai South, Madurai, Nilgiris,  Salem, Tirunelveli and 15 others seats. 

Its ally PMK will contest in Central Chennai, Dharmapuri, Villupuram, Sriperumpudur and three others. 

BJP to contest in Kanyakumari, Coimbatore ,Sivaganga,  Tuticorin and Ramanathapuram.

DMDK to fight in Chennai North,Virudhunagar,Trichy and Kallakuruchi.

TMC (Moopanar) gets Thanjavur, PT Tenkasi

New Justice Party gets Vellore, N R Congress will contest in Puducherry
Mar 17, 2019 11:46 (IST)
Former Andhra minister joins YSRC hours after being named TDP candidate

Hours after being named as the party candidate for the Nellore (Rural) Assembly seat, former minister Aadala Prabhakar Reddy shocked the ruling TDP by switching over to the opposition YSR Congress on Saturday.

Mr Reddy joined the YSRC in the presence of party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy.
Mar 17, 2019 11:43 (IST)
PM Narendra Modi Twitter Profile As BJP Revs Up Campaign: Chowkidar Narendra Modi

A day after launching the "Main Bhi Chowkidar (I am a watchman too)" campaign on social media, Prime Minister Narendra has changed the title of his Twitter account to "Chowkidar Narendra Modi"."
Mar 17, 2019 11:06 (IST)
Mar 17, 2019 10:57 (IST)
CM Bhupesh Baghel on Congress list in Chhattisgarh
  • The youth has been given the opportunity this time
  • Those who are capable and winnable got the tickets
  • People of Chhattisgarh have already denied pm mod9i as their leader
  • If PM Modi is not corrupt then he should have had answered about the Rafale deal and other issues
Mar 17, 2019 10:44 (IST)
YSR Congress party announces list of 25 candidates for Lok Sabha elections.

Mar 17, 2019 10:39 (IST)

Priyanka Gandhi arrives in Lucknow. She is going to the party office, where she is expected to hold a number of meetings with party members.

She will take a boat ride on a 140-kilometre stretch of Ganga between the Prayagraj and Mirzapur districts, tomorrow. 
Mar 17, 2019 10:18 (IST)
In Bihar, the grand alliance led by Lalu Prasad Yadav's Rashtriya Janta Dal (RJD) is likely to announce seat sharing today. The RJD is likely to contest on 20 seats and Congress on 11 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, reports said.
Mar 17, 2019 10:18 (IST)
BJP sources said that in Saturday's meeting there was no discussion on Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 parliamentary seats and where the BJP is still in talks with smaller parties to finalise seat sharing. The BJP won 71 seats in the state in the 2014 general election.

Amit Shah is likely to meet with the core committee of the party on Sunday too after which the BJP is expected to announce its first list of candidates, sources said.

The BJP Central Election Committee is likely to meet again on Monday and by March 22 the party may announce the list of all candidates, sources said.

Meanwhile the Congress released its fourth list of candidates on Saturday. 
Mar 17, 2019 10:17 (IST)
States that will go to polls on April 11 in the first phase of the upcoming seven-phase Lok Sabha elections are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.
Mar 17, 2019 10:17 (IST)
The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) late on Saturday held a meeting, presided over by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah, to shortlist candidates for the ensuing Lok Sabha elections.

The meeting of the BJP Central Election Committee (CEC) at the party's headquarters in Delhi that culminated at 2 am on Sunday was held to deliberate on candidates that the party will field in various constituencies in 11 states, according to sources. Union Ministers Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Kiren Rijiju were among those who attended the meet.

Bihar, Uttarakhand, Assam, Arunachal, Manipur, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Jammu and Kashmir figured in the deliberations, sources said adding that candidates for seats in the states of North East and in south India were also discussed.