This Article is From Dec 08, 2009

Jharkhand: Polling for phase 3 begins

Jharkhand: Polling for phase 3 begins
Ranchi: Voting began for the third phase of elections for 11 seats in Jharkhand amidst tight security on Tuesday.

A total of 25,41,042 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in Hazaribagh, Dhanwar, Bagodar, Jamua, Bermo, Bokaro, Chandankiari, Shikaripara, Dumka, Jama and Jarmundi constituencies. The first five seats have Naxal pockets.

In all, 237 candidates - including 115 Independents - are in the fray with Bokaro having the maximum of 45 aspirants and Dhanwar registering the minimum with ten candidates.

Jharkhand elections are being held in five phases. Elections for 40 of the total 81 seats were completed in the first two phases on November 25 and December 2.

The fourth phase is scheduled on December 12 and the fifth and final round of the elections will be held on December 18. Results will be announced on December 23.