This Article is From Sep 22, 2015

Narendra Modi takes a selfie after voting in Ahmedabad

Narendra Modi's "selfie moment"

Ahmedabad: After voting in Ahmedabad early this morning, Narendra Modi, the BJP's prime ministerial candidate clicked selfies with his inked finger held out. He later posted a photo on Twitter saying, "Voted! Here is my selfie."

Mr Modi, seen as the forerunner for the country's top post, also held up the lotus symbol of the BJP and addressed the media gathered outside the polling booth. The Election Commission has ordered an FIR or First Information Report against him for violating the election code of conduct.

Minutes after he spoke, Aam Aadmi Party leader Ashutosh tweeted, "BJP released manifesto on polling day. Modi did road show on other polling day and now PC (press conference) with party symbol today.will EC react? (sic)" (Elections: Full coverage)

The Gujarat Congress has complained to the Election Commission. The Election Commission has ordered action against Mr Modi for flashing his party symbol after voting at a polling booth and a FIR has been registered against him. (Congress complains to Election Commission over Narendra Modi flashing party symbol)

Mr Modi seemed unruffled by the controversy and focused on building viral support on social media. He also posted on Twitter, "Selfie is in! Share yours using #SelfieWithModi & see what happens."

In an attempt to demonstrate that crucial differences in his party are now settled, Mr Modi began the morning by tweeting, "On my way to vote. I consider myself extremely blessed & fortunate to be a voter in Advani ji's Parliamentary Constituency." (Accompanied by Narendra Modi, LK Advani files his nomination)

BJP veteran LK Advani, who has been at odds with Mr Modi for some time now, contested reluctantly from Gujarat this time. Mr Modi's right hand man Amit Shah predicted that Mr Advani would win back his seat "with a huge margin, his biggest yet."

All 26 constituencies in Gujarat vote today in a single phase. Mr Modi is contesting from Vadodara. (Elections Candidates | Schedule)