Opinion: No Zoom On Friday! Companies Handle WFH Fatigue

Opinion: No Zoom On Friday! Companies Handle WFH Fatigue

Elisa Martinuzzi & Marcus Ashworth, Bloomberg | Wednesday March 24, 2021

It took a year of the pandemic but finally one of the world's biggest banks has acknowledged the huge toll that working remotely is taking on its staff. Jane Fraser, Citigroup Inc's chief executive officer, wants to ease Zoom fatigue and go back to regular working hours. That tells you how bad things have got - at investment banks and at large businesses generally.

Opinion: My Team Found 2,000 Plastic Bags Inside A Dead Camel

Opinion: My Team Found 2,000 Plastic Bags Inside A Dead Camel

Marcus Eriksen | Wednesday March 24, 2021

Digging between the ribs of a dead camel buried in the sands of Dubai, I couldn't believe what my colleagues and I found: a mass of plastic bags as big as a large suitcase. At least 2,000 plastic bags were lumped together where the animal's stomach would have been.

Opinion: RBI Is Having A Tough Time With Government Bonds

Opinion: RBI Is Having A Tough Time With Government Bonds

Andy Mukherjee, Bloomberg Opinion | Wednesday March 24, 2021

Even though the rupee is the best emerging-market currency so far this year, 6% isn't adequate risk compensation for 10-year notes.

Opinion: When Modi-Shah Took Over BJP, I Had Premonition - by Yashwant Sinha

Opinion: When Modi-Shah Took Over BJP, I Had Premonition - by Yashwant Sinha

Yashwant Sinha | Tuesday March 23, 2021

I joined the Trinamool Congress on March 13 at its office in Kolkata. It happened rather suddenly and therefore surprised many people, including my close friends.

Opinion: How Amazon Is Fighting Door-To-Door To Beat Mukesh Ambani

Opinion: How Amazon Is Fighting Door-To-Door To Beat Mukesh Ambani

Andy Mukherjee | Bloomberg | Monday March 22, 2021

The world's largest retailer is permeating the complex tapestry of the only billion-people-plus market open to it. And it's doing so by tweaking its business models to suit local preferences, practices, quirks - and Covid-19 disruptions.

Blog: Covid - Treat The Second Wave As An Emergency

Blog: Covid - Treat The Second Wave As An Emergency

IP Bajpai | Thursday March 18, 2021

Today, as the fear of a second wave engulfs us, it seems we have learnt nothing from how the world wasted February 2020, allowed COVID-19 to spread. Prime Minister Narendra Modi warned yesterday that if we did not act fast, this time rural India could be severely hit and if that were to happen our medical system would collapse.

Opinion: What's Government's Beef With Bitcoin, Really?

Opinion: What's Government's Beef With Bitcoin, Really?

Andy Mukherjee | Bloomberg | Tuesday March 16, 2021

The uncertainty is throwing young blockchain firms and programmers into a paroxysm of anxiety: Should they leave or stay? If they hang back, should they do something else with their lives?

Opinion: Hungry Fund Managers Angry With India, Want SEBI To Make A Fix

Opinion: Hungry Fund Managers Angry With India, Want SEBI To Make A Fix

Andy Mukherjee, Bloomberg Opinion | Monday March 15, 2021

Global investors are urging the Securities and Exchange Board of India to fix the upstairs market.

Opinion: How Do You Take 1.3 Billion People To The Bank?

Opinion: How Do You Take 1.3 Billion People To The Bank?

Aashish Chandorkar, Bloomberg | Monday March 15, 2021

In the futurist law now named after him, the late Stanford University computer scientist Roy Amara once declared, "We tend to overestimate the effect of a technology in the short run and underestimate the effect in the long run." India's public digital infrastructure - in many ways, an immense online bureaucracy - is an outlier to this principle.

Opinion: Why An Injured Mamata Now Has Bigger Advantage Over BJP

Opinion: Why An Injured Mamata Now Has Bigger Advantage Over BJP

Ashutosh | Monday March 15, 2021

Mamata Banerjee's new efforts to project herself as a Hindu leader will increase the BJP's headache. And if her plastered leg provokes sympathy votes,the BJP could be in bigtrouble.

Blog: From Porn Addiction To Vaping, What <I>Bombay Begums</I> Didn’t Show

Blog: From Porn Addiction To Vaping, What Bombay Begums Didn’t Show

Jyotsna Mohan Bhargava | Monday March 15, 2021

We are a society that seldom has the pulse of its children. Those who are outraging over the portrayal of a 13-year-old girl in Bombay Begums pretend they see no evil and yet, ironically, talk evil - their public rant against the drama series is the real adult content.

Blog: Despite Opinion Polls, This Could Be Big Concern For Mamata

Blog: Despite Opinion Polls, This Could Be Big Concern For Mamata

Aunindyo Chakravarty | Friday March 12, 2021

The BJP will be hoping that Mithun turns out to be that crucial bridge between upper and backward castes that can help it come to power this May.

Opinion: Why Meghan's Interview Doesn't Move India - Nalini Singh

Opinion: Why Meghan's Interview Doesn't Move India - Nalini Singh

Nalini Singh | Wednesday March 10, 2021

Why has the Harry-Meghan 2-hour interview to Oprah Winfrey not evoked gut-wrenching sympathy in India for this biracial royal couple? Why haven't the descriptions of racism and Meghan's suicidal thoughts stirred white-hot loyalty for the Prince and his Duchess here in India?

Blog: Killer Waves, Nuclear Plant Cooking Off - Covering The Japan Tsunami

Blog: Killer Waves, Nuclear Plant Cooking Off - Covering The Japan Tsunami

Vishnu Som | Wednesday March 10, 2021

The word tsunami had entered the lexicon of journalists in newsrooms around the world after the December 2004 Indian Ocean tragedy, and on 11 March 2011, when news broke of tsunami waves striking the coast of east Japan, there was a sense that this had the potential of becoming a major crisis.

Opinion: Read India's Tea Leaves In Bonds, Not Stocks

Opinion: Read India's Tea Leaves In Bonds, Not Stocks

Andy Mukherjee, Bloomberg Opinion | Wednesday March 10, 2021

Only two-fifths of the sovereign notes put up for sale have been bought by investors. The rest of the auctions were partially cancelled or devolved on primary dealers.