This Article is From Jun 05, 2014

PM Narendra Modi Leads Newly-Elected MPs as They Take Oath in Lok Sabha

PM Narendra Modi was sworn-in first, followed by LK Advani and Sonia Gandhi.

New Delhi: Narendra Damodardas Modi, the country's 15th Prime Minister, today took oath as a member of the Lok Sabha. He was the first of the 510 MPs sworn in as a member of the 16th Lok Sabha on the second day of its inaugural session. (Know Your MPs)

Former Union minister Kamal Nath had yesterday been administered the oath as pro-tem speaker by President Pranab Mukherjee. (Kamal Nath Appointed Protem Speaker of Lok Sabha)

Mr Modi was followed by former deputy prime minister L K Advani and Congress president Sonia Gandhi in the swearing-in ceremony of the newly-elected MPs. They were followed by PA Sangma (National People's Party), Arjun Charan Sethi (Biju Janata Dal), and Biren Singh Engti (Congress). The last three leaders assisted Mr Nath in swearing the new MPs in. (We Will Work for the Hopes and Dreams of People: PM Modi Outside Parliament)

Home Minister Rajnath Singh was first of the Cabinet Ministers to take oath, followed by Sushma Swaraj, who used Sanskrit language to be sworn in. Railway Minister Sadananda Gowda took the oath in Kannada, his mother tongue.

The ministers of state were sworn in after their senior ministers. They were followed by members from various states and union territories, in alphabetical order.

Attired in a white kurta and white jacket, Mr Modi greeted the House with folded hands after taking oath. The Congress president reciprocated when he reached her seat while going around the well. Later he also reciprocated when the Congress chief greeted the House. When Mr Modi shook hands with the pro-tem speaker, he was greeted with a loud thumping of desks by the members.

The total strength of the Lok Sabha is 543, but its effective strength stands at 539 now. Mr Modi has resigned from Vadodara, one of the two seats he contested. Samajwadi Party president Mulayam Singh Yadav has quit his Mainpuri seat, while retaining Azamgarh.

Telangana Rashtra Samithi chief K Chandrasekhar Rao relinquished his Medak seat after becoming the chief minister of India's 29th state.

The Beed Lok Sabha constituency fell vacant after union rural development minister Gopinath Munde died in a road accident in the capital on Tuesday.

With these four vacancies, and 29 MPs unable to attend the ceremony today, 510 MPs were sworn in.