Captain Amarinder Singh's Swearing-In Ceremony Tomorrow Will Be A Simple Affair

Captain Amarinder Singh's Swearing-In Ceremony Tomorrow Will Be A Simple Affair

In light of Punjab's current fiscal situation, Mr Singh didn't want any unnecessary expenditure.

Chandigarh:  Captain Amarinder Singh, who led the Congress to victory in Punjab after a decade, will take oath as the state's 26th Chief Minister here tomorrow morning in a simple ceremony. Party Vice-President Rahul Gandhi is also expected to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Mr Singh, who turned 75 on March 11, the day state assembly results were declared, is likely to induct nine ministers in his cabinet initially. The cabinet would be expanded later, added party sources. The state can have a maximum of 18 ministers. The Congress has 77 legislators in the assembly.

Mr Singh and members of his cabinet will be administered oath by Punjab Governor V P Singh Badnore at the Raj Bhawan. 

Captain Amarinder Singh has decided to go in for a simple swearing-in ceremony as an austerity measure. "There will be nothing ostentatious about the oath-taking programme at the Raj Bhawan on Thursday morning, when Punjab Governor V P Singh Badnore will administer the oath of office to Amarinder Singh as the new chief minister of the state," the Punjab Congress had said yesterday.

Mr Singh has made it clear, that in the light of the state's fiscal situation, he did not want any unnecessary or wasteful expenditure to be incurred on the swearing-in ceremony. 

Mr Singh had also met Rahul Gandhi yesterday and extended an invitation to him. He has urged all the newly elected legislators to also keep their personal invitations to the bare minimum.

The oath-taking ceremony of the Chief Minister is traditionally held at the Raj Bhawan. However, the outgoing Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal chose different venues for taking oath as the Chief Minister in 2007 and 2012, when SAD-BJP formed the government.

The swearing-in ceremony of Mr Badal, who was sworn-in as the Chief Minister for the fourth time in 2007, had taken place at the Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) stadium in Mohali. In 2012, the ceremony was held at historic Chapar Chiri Banda Bahadur Memorial, about 25 km from here.

This is the second time that Mr Singh would be taking the oath as the Chief Minister, having served in that capacity from 2002 to 2007.

Several newly elected legislators including Navjot Singh Sidhu, Manpreet Singh Badal, Brahm Mohindra, Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa, Rana Gurjit Singh, Pargat Singh, Razia Sultana, OP Soni are in the race for becoming ministers, party sources said.

Having tasted electoral victory in Punjab after a gap of 10 years, Congress would like to give representation to various sections and also accommodate both experienced leaders and youth in the cabinet.

Cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, who switched over from the BJP to the Congress (Amritsar East), Tript Rajinder Singh Bajwa (Fatehgarh Churian), O P Soni (Amritsar Central) hail from Majha region, where the Congress performed well in the elections. From Doaba region, former hockey Captain Pargat Singh (Jalandhar Cantt), Rana Gurjit Singh (Kapurthala), are being considered major contenders for ministerial positions. 

In the Malwa region, where Congress got 40 seats out of 69, Manpreet Singh Badal (Bathinda Urban), the estranged nephew of outgoing Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal, Brahm Mohindra (Patiala Rural), Rakesh Pandey (Ludhiana North), Balbir Sidhu (Mohali) and Gurmeet Sodhi (Guruharsahai) are among the main contenders. 

Among women, Razia Sultana (Malerkotla) and Aruna Choudhary (Dinanagar SC) have chances to become ministers. Vijay Inder Singh Singla (Sangrur), Raja Amarinder Warring (Gidderabaha) and Kuljit Nagra (Fatehgarh Sahib), who are considered close to Rahul Gandhi, may also want to see themselves as ministers. 

Among Dalit leaders, Charanjit Singh Channi (Chamkaur Sahib SC), Raj Kumar (Chabbewal SC) and Sadhu Singh Dharmsot (Nabha SC) are the front runners for ministerial berths.

It remains to be seen who among the contenders for ministerial positions will be inducted tomorrow.

Riding on strong anti-incumbency, the Congress stormed to power in Punjab after a gap of 10 years by winning 77 seats in the 117-assembly seats of the Vidhan Sabha.

Ruling SAD-BJP won 18 while AAP fighting its maiden assembly polls in Punjab won 20, while two seats went to newly floated outfit and AAP ally Lok Insaaf Party.

Follow NDTV for latest election news and live coverage of assembly elections 2019 in Maharashtra and Haryana.
Subscribe to our YouTube channel, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for latest news and live news updates.

NDTV Beeps - your daily newsletter

................................ Advertisement ................................

................................ Advertisement ................................

................................ Advertisement ................................