This Article is From Oct 25, 2021

National Awards: Kangana Ranaut, Dhanush And Manoj Bajpayee Receive Their Prizes

National Awards: The prizes were handed out to awardees by Vice President Venkaiah Naidu

National Awards: Kangana Ranaut, Dhanush And Manoj Bajpayee Receive Their Prizes

National Awards: Kangana Ranaut at the ceremony. (Image courtesy: Doordarshan)


  • The 67th National Film Awards were announced earlier this year
  • Chhichhore won the Best Hindi Film award
  • Kangana Ranaut won her third Best Actress prize
New Delhi:

The 67th National Film Awards, which were announced earlier this year, were presented in person at New Delhi's Vigyan Bhawan today. The prizes were handed out to awardees by Vice President Venkaiah Naidu Dhanush And Manoj Bajpayee received their awards for Best Actor. Kangana Ranaut received her award for Best Actress. Superstar Rajinikanth received his Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2019. South star Vijaya Sethupathi took home the Best Supporting Actor prize for Super Deluxe.

The winner list was announced in March this year with late actor Sushant Singh Rajput's film Chhichhore winning the Best Hindi Film award and Kangana Ranaut winning her third Best Actress prize for her performances in Manikarnika (2019) and Panga (2020). Manoj Bajpayee and Dhanush share the Best Actor award for their respective roles in Bhonsle and Asuran, which also won the Best Tamil Film award.

Chhicchore director Nitesh Tiwari and producer Sajid Nadiadwala dedicated the Best Hindi Film Award to Sushant Singh Rajput, who died last year. They said that the late actor will always remain an "integral part of the film" at the ceremony.

Filmmaker Nitesh Ranjan Agnihotri was the Guest Of Honour. He was among the first few celebs to arrive at the awards, including the juries for the awards and for Dadasaheb Phalke Award. Actor Biswajit Chatterjee, who was one of the jury members, said that Rajinikanth was selected for the honour because he is a "talented" person and very "down to earth."

Union Minister for Information Broadcasting Anurag Singh Thakur and Union Minister of State for Information and Broadcasting L Murugan were among the other senior dignitaries attending the ceremony. Anurag Singh Thakur shared his thoughts on celebrating Hindi Cinema at the 67th National Awards. He congratulated Rajinikanth on receiving for Dadadsaheb Phalke Award. He said after five decades, Rajinikanth is not just a star but also an institution in himself.

The 67th National Awards were delayed from last year due to the coronavirus pandemic that hit the world last year and left a huge impact on the global economy.

Take a look at the pictures of the winners from the awards here:


Rajinikanth received Dadasaheb Phalke Award from Vice President Venkaiah Naidu. (Courtesy: Doordarshan)


Dhanush received the award for Asuran. (Courtesy: Doordarshan)


Manoj Bajpayee won the Best Actor award for his roles in Bhonsle. (Courtesy: Doordarshan)


Kangana Ranaut received her award at the ceremony. (Pic courtesy: Doordarshan)


Vijaya Sethupathi won the Best Supporting Actor prize for Super Deluxe. (Courtesy: Doordarshan)


Chhicchore producer Sajid Nadiadwala received the Best Hindi Film Award. (Courtesy: Doordarshan)

Meanwhile, check out the list of winners:


Best Feature Film: Marakkar Arabikadalinte Simham (Malayalam)

Best Direction: Bahattar Hoorain

Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut (Manikarnika, Panga)

Best Actor: Manoj Bajpayee for Bhonsle and Dhanush for Asuran

Best Supporting Actress: The Tashkent Files, Pallavi Joshi

Best Supporting Actor: Super Deluxe, Vijaya Sethupathi

Best Children Film: Kastoori (Hindi)

Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of Director: Helen (Malayalam)

Special Mention: Biryani (Malayalam), Jonaki Porua (Assamese), Lata Bhagwan Kare (Marathi), Picasso (Marathi)

Best Tulu Film: Pingara

Best Paniya Film: Kenjira

Best Mishing Film: Anu Ruwad

Best Khasi Film: Lewduh

Best Haryanvi Film: Chhoriyan Chhoron Se Kam Nahi Hoti

Best Chattisgarhi Film: Bhulan The Maze

Best Telugu Film: Jersey

Best Tamil Film: Asuran

Best Punjabi Film: Rab Da Radio 2

Best Odiya Film: Sala Budhar Badla and Kalira Atita

Best Manipuri Film: Eigi Kona

Best Malayalam Film: Kalla Nottam

Best Marathi Film: Bardo

Best Konkani Film: Kaajro

Best Kannada Film: Akshi

Best Hindi Film: Chhichhore

Best Bengali Film: Gumnaami

Best Assamese Film: Ronuwa- Who Never Surrender

Best Stunt: Avane Srimannarayana (Kannada)

Best Choreography: Maharshi (Telugu)

Best Special Effects: Marakkar Arabikadalinte Simham (Malayalam)

Special Jury Award: Oththa Seruppu Size-7 (Tamil)

Best Lyrics: Kolaambi (Malayalam)

Best Music Direction Songs: Viswasam (Tamil)

Music Direction: Jyeshthoputro

Best Make-Up Artist: Helen

Best Production Design: Anandi Gopal

Best Editing: Jersey (Telugu)

Best Audiography: lewduh (Khasi)

Best Screenplay Original Screenplay: Jyeshthoputri

Best Adapted Screenplay: Gumnaami

Best Dialogue Writer: The Tashkent Files (Hindi)

Best Cinematography: Jallikattu (Malayalam)

Best Female Playback Singer: Bardo (Marathi)

Best Male PLayback Singer: Kesri, Teri Mitti (Hindi)

Best Film on Environment Conservation: Water Burial

Most Film-Friendly State: Sikkim

Best Book on Cinema: A Gandhian Affair: India's Curious Portrayal of Love in Cinema by Sanjay Suri

Special mention- Cinema Paharana Manus written by Ashok Rane and Kannada Cinema: Jagathika Cinema Vikasa-Prerane Prabhava written by PR Ramadasa Naidu)

Best Film Critic: Sohini Chattopadhyay


Best Narration: Wild Karnataka, Sir David Attenborough

Best Editing: Shut Up Sona, Arjun Gourisaria

Best Audiography: Radha (Musical), Allwin Rego and Sanjay Maurya

Best On-Location Sound Recordist: Rahas (Hindi), Saptarshi Sarkar

Best Cinematography: Sonsi, Savita Singh

Best Direction: Knock Knock Knock (English/Bengali), Sudhanshu Saria

Best Film on Family Values: Oru Paathiraa Swapnam Pole (Malayalam)

Best Short Fiction Film: Custody (Hindi/English)

Special Jury Award: Small Scale Societies (English)

Best Animation Film: Radha (Musical)

Best Investigative Film: Jakkal

Best Exploration Film: Wild Karnataka (English)

Best Education Film: Apples and Oranges (English)

Best Film on Social Issues: Holy Rights (Hindi) and Ladli (Hindi)

Best Environment Film: The Stork Saviours (Hindi)

Best Promotional Film: The Shower (Hindi)

Best Art and Culture Film: Shrikshetra-Ru-Sahijata (Odia)

Best Biographical Film: Elephants Do Remember (English)

Best Ethnographic Film: Charan-Atva The Essence of Being a Nomad (Gujarati)

Best Debut Non-Feature Film of a Director: Khisa (Marathi)

Best Non-Feature Film: An Engineered Dream (Hindi)