This Article is From Oct 17, 2014

559 Odisha Personnel to Undertake Relief Operations in Cyclone-Hit Andhra Pradesh

559 Odisha Personnel to Undertake Relief Operations in Cyclone-Hit Andhra Pradesh

Devastation caused by cyclone Hudhud in Andhra Pradesh. (Press Trust of India)

Bhubaneswar: Odisha government on Thursday said it has mobilised 559 personnel, including a senior police officer in the rank of an additional director general, to undertake relief and rescue operations in the cyclone-hit areas of neighbouring Andhra Pradesh.

"Odisha government has extended its helping hand to Andhra Pradesh in relief and restoration work in Vishakapatnam and Srikakulam districts, which have been devastated by cyclone Hudhud," Odisha's special relief commissioner P K Mohapatra said.

The state government has provided as many as 453 Fire Service personnel, he said.

Similarly, 106 Odisha Disaster Rapid Action Force (ODRAF) personnel have been deployed in Vishakapatnam and Srikakulam districts with 239 power saws/cutters, 152 inflatable tower light, 23 combi-tool and four mobile mini mast lights, he said.

Since October 13, the Odisha personnel were clearing roads, removing thousands of felled trees and poles, collapsed structures and lighting important junctions during the night with inflatable tower lights, he said.

"M Nageswar Rao, Additional Director General of Police, Fire Service, is camping at Vishakapatnam and monitoring the work," Mohapatra said.

Additionally, the Odisha government has also sent five heavy generators to the two affected districts of Andhra Pradesh, he said.

"Arrangement is being made to send more generators," he said.

Odisha has taken steps to provide one lakh litres of milk to Andhra Pradesh through the Odisha State Cooperative Milk Producers' Federation Ltd (OMFED).

Close to 50,000 litres of milk has been supplied till now, he said adding, these supports were being mobilised in due consultation with Andhra Pradesh government.

The state government has also geared up relief and restoration work in its eight affected districts.