My Harvard Nightmare: Finally, Some Closure - by Nidhi Razdan

My Harvard Nightmare: Finally, Some Closure - by Nidhi Razdan

Nidhi Razdan | Friday December 17, 2021

Don't kick a person when they are down. It's not easy to admit you are human. This whole episode eroded my self-confidence and I repeatedly questioned my judgement and decision-making abilities.

Opinion: UK Doctor's Perspective On India vs Omicron

Opinion: UK Doctor's Perspective On India vs Omicron

Dr Amit Gupta | Friday December 17, 2021

It's back. Not that it had ever gone away, but the old Delta variant cases are down, masks have slipped, it is wedding season, and life is resuming a semblance of normality. Sadly, Omicron is likely to change all that.

Opinion: Kohli Exposes Sourav Ganguly With Captain-Like Skills

Opinion: Kohli Exposes Sourav Ganguly With Captain-Like Skills

Mukul Kesavan | Thursday December 16, 2021

Too often in Indian cricket has discretion been embraced as the better part of valour. Kohli spoke up for Shami when the BCCI wouldn't. Now he has spoken up for himself. We are in his debt.

Opinion: The Lavish Varanasi Spectacle Highlighting One Individual

Opinion: The Lavish Varanasi Spectacle Highlighting One Individual

Rajmohan Gandhi | Wednesday December 15, 2021

Will Modi overcome his defeat at the hands of the farmers by staging spectacular shows like the one he just put up at Varanasi?

Blog: Why This Is Already A Landmark Year In The Pollution Fight

Blog: Why This Is Already A Landmark Year In The Pollution Fight

Chetan Bhattacharji | Tuesday December 14, 2021

The air pollution last month made it the worst November in seven years since records began. This is a setback to the central government's already modest target to cut air pollution by 20-30% by 2024.

Opinion: No, Modi Does Not Use Religion For Politics

Opinion: No, Modi Does Not Use Religion For Politics

Ashutosh | Tuesday December 14, 2021

For Modi, Ayodhya and Kashi is not politics but a matter of faith.

Opinion: Hacking PM Modi's Twitter Account Was A Prank. But...

Opinion: Hacking PM Modi's Twitter Account Was A Prank. But...

Tim Culpan, Bloomberg | Tuesday December 14, 2021

Last weekend some smart alecks managed to breach the defenses of one of the most ubiquitous media platforms, access the mouthpiece of the leader of one of the world's most populous countries.

"Varanasi Live" Shows How Modi Has Rewritten Politics - by Vir Sanghvi

"Varanasi Live" Shows How Modi Has Rewritten Politics - by Vir Sanghvi

Vir Sanghvi | Monday December 13, 2021

Anyone looking for proof that the BJP has completely transformed Indian politics need only have watched today's live TV coverage of the Prime Minister's latest Benaras adventures.

Opinion: Haryana Chief Minister's Deceit In Handling The <I>"Namaz"</I> Issue

Opinion: Haryana Chief Minister's Deceit In Handling The "Namaz" Issue

Brinda Karat | Monday December 13, 2021

Why should the Chief Minister of Haryana specifically order that Muslims should pray at home, as though Muslims are on the road five times a day, every day, praying in open spaces?

Mamata Banerjee (+PK) vs Congress Is Much-Needed - Keshava Guha

Mamata Banerjee (+PK) vs Congress Is Much-Needed - Keshava Guha

Keshava Guha | Wednesday December 08, 2021

The Opposition's best chance lies in a coalition as broad as possible, one that includes the Congress, but is not necessarily led by it. Mamata Banerjee may or may not be fit to lead it - but she shouldn't be faulted for trying.

Opinion: Mamata Banerjee Hits A Wall With Sharad Pawar And Sena

Opinion: Mamata Banerjee Hits A Wall With Sharad Pawar And Sena

Ashutosh | Wednesday December 08, 2021

The Thackeray Government in Maharashtra, standing on the crutches of the Congress and Sharad Pawar's NCP, is confronting Mamata Banerjee's demolition drive.

Opinion: On Omicron, Airports In India Show How Wrong We're Getting It

Opinion: On Omicron, Airports In India Show How Wrong We're Getting It

Anurag Mehra | Tuesday December 07, 2021

The entire Omicron saga seems to be one of various agencies and experts jumping guns. And it offers lessons about how not to communicate.

Blog: Vinod Dua, Who Shaped My Career And So Many Others'

Blog: Vinod Dua, Who Shaped My Career And So Many Others'

Gauri Datta Gupta | Sunday December 05, 2021

June, 1992. I walk into Vinod Dua's office for an interview as a summer intern. My mother and Mr Dua's wife, Dr Padmavati, worked at a charitable clinic together. A chance conversation between them led to this internship.

Opinion: "I Don't Know," Says Biden On Omicron

Opinion: "I Don't Know," Says Biden On Omicron

Rajmohan Gandhi | Saturday December 04, 2021

The challenge that Omicron has thrown to Joe Biden's presidency comes when there seems to be a consensus among America-watchers that in Congressional elections due in November next year, the Democrats might lose one if not both houses.

Opinion: Omicron And Delta Could Trigger New Super Variant, Warns Scientist

Opinion: Omicron And Delta Could Trigger New Super Variant, Warns Scientist

Friday December 03, 2021

What happens when two nasty Covid-19 variants get together and share their most effective mutations? Omicron and delta have brought us closer to the answer, says Peter White, a virologist at the University of New South Wales who warns of the inevitab