This Article is From Dec 05, 2016

Screen Awards 2016: Amitabh Bachchan And Alia Bhatt Are Top Winners

Screen Awards 2016: Amitabh Bachchan And Alia Bhatt Are Top Winners

23rd Annual Star Screen Awards: Amitabh Bachchan and Alia Bhatt photographed in Mumbai


  • Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan co-hosted a segment of the event
  • Amitabh Bachchan and Alia Bhatt won Best Actor and Actress
  • Rekha received the Lifetime Achievement Award
New Delhi: Awards season began with the 23rd edition of the Star Screen Awards 2016 on Sunday in Mumbai. It was attended by some of the biggest names in Bollywood like Amitabh Bachchan, Rekha, Deepika Padukone, Alia Bhatt and many more. One of the highlights of the event was the segment co-hosted by Shah Rukh Khan and Salman Khan, which left the audience in splits. Though the list of achievers is long, it was Shoojit Sircar's Pink that emerged as the clear winner, bagging as many as four awards, including the Best Actor Award for Amitabh Bachchan. On the other hand, Alia Bhatt was named the Best Actress for her powerful performance in Udta Punjab

Amitabh Bachchan receives the Best Actor Award from Raju Hirani and Manisha Koirala

Rishi Kapoor won the Best Supporting Actor award for Kapoor and Sons, while Shabana Azmi was named Best Supporting Actress for Neerja. Veteran star Rekha, 62, received the Lifetime Achievement award.

Alia Bhatt receives the Best Actress Award for Udta Punjab from Rekha

Amitabh Bachchan and Alia Bhatt both posted on social media after receiving their awards:

Here is the complete list of Star Screen Awards 2016 winners:

Best Film: Pink

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan for Pink

Best Actress: Alia Bhatt for Udta Punjab

Best Supporting Actor: Rishi Kapoor for Kapoor and Sons

Best Supporting Actress: Shabana Azmi for Neerja

Critics' Choice for Best Actor: Sushant Singh Rajput for M S Dhoni: The Untold Story

Critics' Choice for Best Actress: Swara Bhaskar for Nil Battey Sannata

Lifetime Achievement Award: Rekha

Rekha receives the Lifetime Achievement Award from Deepika Padukone

Best Actor In a Comic Role: Varun Dhawan for Dishoom

Best Newcomer (Male): Jim Sarbh for Neerja and Harshvardhan Kapoor for Mirzya

Harshvardhan Kapoor received the Best Newcomer Award from father Anil Kapoor

Best Newcomer (Female): Disha Patani for M S Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Director: Ram Madhvani for Neerja

Most promising Debut Director: Tinu Suresh Desai for Rustom

Best Screenplay: Saiwyn Quadras for Neerja

Best Editing: Aditya Bannerji for Pink

Best Cinematography: Anay Goswami for Fitoor

Best Action: Jai Singh Nijjar forShivaay

Best Dialogue: Ritesh Shah for Pink

Best Style Icon Award: Deepika Padukone

Deepika Padukone won the Style Icon Award

Best Music: Pritam Chakraborty for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Lyricist: Amitabh Bhattacharya for Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Child Artist: Riya Shukla for Nil Battey Sannata

Best Playback Singer (Male): Amit Mishra for Bulleya, Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Female): Palak Muchhal for Kaun Tujhe, M.S. Dhoni: The Untold Story

Best Choreography: Bosco-Caesar for Kala Chashma, Baar Baar Dekho