Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah Reshuffles Portfolios In Revamped Ministry

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah Reshuffles Portfolios In Revamped Ministry

File photo of Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah.

Bengaluru: Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah today shuffled portfolios of his ministers, alloting some of them to the 13 new ministers inducted two days back.

According to an official notification, Governor Vajubhai Vala, on the chief minister's recommendation, allocated the revenue portfolio to Kagodu Thimmappa.

The 84-year-old, senior-most Congress lawmaker from Shivamogga was the assembly speaker since the party returned to power in May 2013.

The key portfolio was held by Mysuru region's lawmaker Srinivasa Prasad, who was among the 14 ministers dropped on Sunday.

Of the 13 new faces, nine were sworn-in with cabinet rank and four as ministers of state.

In the 33-member ministry, including the chief minister, 27 hold cabinet ranks, while six are ministers of state.

In addition to finance, personal and intelligence wing, Mr Siddaramaiah has kept housing and information and broadcasting portfolios with him.

Rebel Kannada star and Mandya lawmaker MH Ambareesh was holding housing.

Senior cabinet ministers G Parameshwara (home), Ramalinga Reddy (transport), TB Jayachandra (law and parliamentary affairs), B Ramanatha Rai (forests and environment), HK Patil (rural development and panchayat raj), HC Mahadevappa (public works and ports), KJ George (Bengaluru development), MB Patil (major and medium irrigation), H Anjaneya (social welfare), DK Shivakumar (energy), HC Mahadevappa (cooperation) and R Roshan Baig (urban development) retained their portfolios.

Mr Baig has been given Haj as an additional portfolio, in lieu of information and broadcasting, the chief minister took away from him.

Lone woman cabinet minister Umashree retained women and child development, Kannada and culture, while two ministers of state, promoted yesterday to cabinet rank -- Krishna Byregowda (agriculture) and Sharanprakash Patil (medical education) also retained their portfolios.

Cabinet minister UT Khader has been shifted to food and civil supplies and consumer affairs from health and family welfare, which new cabinet minister KR Ramesh Kumar will hold from tomorrow.

Of the other new cabinet ministers, Tanveer Sait has been given primary and secondary education, minority welfare and Wakf, SS Mallikarjuna horticulture, Ramesh Jarakiholi small scale industries, MR Seetharam science and technology, Santhosh Lad labour, Basavaraj Rayareddi higher education and MH Yamanappa excise.

Of the newly ministers of state, Priyank Kharge got the high-profile IT and BT and tourism, which Deshpande was holding till the reshuffle.

As the youngest minister in the cabinet, 36-year-old Priyank is a first-time lawmaker from Kalaburgi district in the state's northern region and son of Congress leader in the Lok Sabha Mallikarjuna Kharge.

Other three new ministers of state - RM Lamani has been given textiles, Eshwara Kandre municipalities & local bodies, and Pramod Madhwaraj youth services and fisheries.

Incumbent ministers of state Vinay Kulkarni and A Manju retained mines and geology and animal husbandry and sericulture respectively.