Yogi Adityanath Keeps Home, Revenue In Uttar Pradesh Work Allocation

Yogi Adityanath Keeps Home, Revenue In Uttar Pradesh Work Allocation

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will be in charge of home and finance ministries.


  • Deputy KP Maurya gets PWD, Dinesh Sharma gets education
  • Comes amid reports of tussle over allocation of ministries
  • Mr Adityanath met PM, Amit Shah yesterday reportedly to settle allocation
Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has kept the important home and revenue departments after a reported tussle with his deputies Keshav Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma.

The 44-year-old Chief Minister has reportedly kept 36 departments, which include information, housing, urban planning and food and civil supplies. He has given finance to party veteran Rajesh Agarwal.

Mr Maurya, who had reportedly fought for the home ministry, has been compensated with the Public Works Department, which is in charge of roads and construction. Mr Sharma has been given charge of education; he was reported to be keen on the finance portfolio.

Before it could become a full-blown crisis, the dispute over ministries appears to have been contained after Yogi Adityanath's visit yesterday to Delhi, where he met Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah.

Rita Bahuguna Joshi, the former UP Congress chief imported before the election, has been assigned Women and Child Development and Tourism.

Siddharth Nath Singh, a veteran party spokesperson, has been given the health ministry.

The only Muslim in the new government, Mohsin Raza, will be in charge of Science and Technology, Electronics, IT, Muslim Waqf and Haj.

Suresh Khanna gets Parliamentary Affairs, Satish Mahana has Industries and Swami Prasad Maurya has been allotted Labour and Employment. 

Shrikant Sharma has Energy and Suresh Rana, a controversial politician accused in the 2013 Muzaffarnagar riots, is in charge of sugar mills. 

Yogi Adityanath and 46 ministers were sworn in on Sunday after the BJP's colossal win in the Uttar Pradesh election.
More News