This Article is From Nov 27, 2014

India Launches e-Visa Facility for 43 Nations

India Launches e-Visa Facility for 43 Nations

Representational Image (Thinkstock)

New Delhi: With the launch of electronic visa (e-visa) facility on Thursday, tourists from 43 countries can apply for Indian visa in four simple steps.

The step is aimed at boosting tourism sector and offer hassle-free travel to foreign nationals.

Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, along with Union Minister of Culture and Tourism Mahesh Sharma launched the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) service enabled with electronic travel authorisation (ETA) scheme in New Delhi.

Tourists from countries like Brazil, Cambodia, Kenya, Oman, Singapore, Norway, Thailand, among others can avail this facility.

"India has a unique advantage in tourism sector owing to its geographical location and that no other country offers such abundance of diversity in weather conditions," said Mr Singh.

This visa will allow entry of the tourists into India within 30 days from the date of approval of ETA and will be valid for 30 days stay in India from the date of arrival in India.

The facility will be extended to other nations in a phased manner.

The tourists will be allowed to enter and depart from nine international airports - Bengaluru, Chennai, Kochi, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Mumbai and Thiruvananthapuram.

Tourists availing this facility would be able to go for usual sightseeing and recreational activities. The tourism ministry has included facilities like short duration medical visit and casual business visit with e-visa.