This Article is From Oct 27, 2016

Former Arunachal Chief Minister Kalikho Pul's Wife To Contest By-Poll On BJP Ticket

Former Arunachal Chief Minister Kalikho Pul's Wife To Contest By-Poll On BJP Ticket

Kalikho Pul was found dead under mysterious circumstances. (File Photo)

New Delhi: The BJP today fielded Dasanglu Pul, wife of former Arunchal Pradesh chief minister Kalikho Pul, from the state's Hayuliang assembly seat where the by-election is necessitated following his death.

Ms Dasanglu is Mr Pul's third wife and will have the support of the People's Party of Arunachal (PPA), which is in power in the state, and a BJP ally.

The BJP also announced names of its candidates for 12 other by-elections to parliamentary and assembly seats to be held on November 19.

Kalikho Pul, who split with Congress and became the Chief Minister with the BJP's support, had to quit following a Supreme Court order and was later found dead under mysterious circumstances. It was suspected to be a suicide.

Things again took a turn in the state after Congress leader and Chief Minister Pema Khandu walked out of his party and formed a regional outfit PPA. It joined hands with the BJP.

Party sources said they will seek Ms Dasanglu's election to the assembly uncontested and appeal to the opposition to not field any candidate against her.

Gyan Singh and Manju Dadu will be its candidates from Shahdol (ST) Lok Sabha seat and Nepanagar (ST) assembly seat in Madhya Pradesh. Shahdol is going to the polls following the death of incumbent lawmaker Dalpat Singh Paraste, a BJP leader.

S Prabhu, MS Ramalingam and R Srinivasan are its nominees from Aravakurichi, Thanjavur and Thiruparankundram assembly seats in Tamil Nadu while Hem Chandra Burman, Ambuj Mohanti and Biswajit Poddar are from Cooch Behar (SC) and Tamluk Lok Sabha seats and Monteswar assembly seat respectively in West Bengal.

Sista Mohan Das and Tapan Kumar Pal are the party candidates from Barjala and Khowai assembly seats in Tripura while Pradhan Baruah and Man Singh Rongpi have been fielded from Lakhimpur Lok Sabah seat and Baithalangso (ST) assembly seats in Assam.