This Article is From Jul 23, 2014

Assam Chief Tarun Gogoi Reallocates Portfolios to Four Ministers

Assam Chief Tarun Gogoi Reallocates Portfolios to Four Ministers

File photo of Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi.

Guwahati: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi today reallocated portfolios to four ministers in his cabinet after dropping two ministers yesterday soon after the resignation of dissident minister Himanta Biswa Sarma on Monday.

Mr Gogoi had dropped Border Affairs and Cooperation Minister Siddeque Ahmed and Irrigation and Soil Conservation Minister Ardhendu Dey last evening after they accompanied Health and Education Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma to the Raj Bhawan for submitting his resignation to Governor J B Patnaik.

The transport and tourism portfolio, held by Chandan Brahma of Bodoland Peoples' Front (BPF), was also lying vacant, after the party severed its ties with the Congress last month.

Minister of Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs, Welfare of Minorities Nazrul Islam has been allocated the additional portfolio of Health and Family Welfare, a spokesman of the Chief Minister's Office said in Guwahati.

Power, Industries, Commerce and Public Enterprises Minister Pradyut Bordoloi has been allocated the additional Education portfolio.

Agriculture, Horticulture, Food Processing and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Nilamoni Sen Deka has been allocated two additional portfolios, Irrigation and Soil Conservation.

Minister of State (Independent Charge), Excise, Sports and Youth Welfare, Ajit Singh has given Cooperation as an additional portfolio.

The Governor has approved the additional allocation of portfolios to the ministers and has also accepted Mr Sarma's resignation and approved the dropping of Siddeque Ahmed and Ardhendu Dey.

The Chief Minister, who was expected to carry out a reshuffle of his ministry soon, was likely to meet the Governor this evening.