This Article is From Sep 26, 2017

Bigg Boss 11: Rahul Roy To Manveer Gurjar, A Look At The Winners Of Past Seasons

Bigg Boss 11: From winner number #1 Rahul Roy to winner #10 Manveer Gurjar, here's all you want to know about the reality show

Bigg Boss 11: Rahul Roy To Manveer Gurjar, A Look At The Winners Of Past Seasons

Manveer Gurjar, winner of Bigg Boss 10.


  • Season 11 will be co-hosted by Salman Khan and Mouni Roy
  • Prince Narula scored a hattrick of winning reality show in season 9
  • Bigg Boss 11 starts from October 1
New Delhi: Bigg Boss 11 is almost here, folks. Are you ready for the epic celebrity battle and fights and (often incredulous) tasks set by Bigg Boss for the participants? Ready or not, Bigg Boss 11 is here and this time it will be co-hosted by Salman Khan and Mouni Roy. The format of the show changed slightly last year as Bigg Boss opened the gates of his show for non-celebrity contestants too. The format will remain the same this year too with an added twist of padosi (neighbour), which gives us a hint that the competition (at least initially) may be between two houses. At a later stage both houses may be merged but it is bonding in the initial days which make a 'bigg' difference.

Before Bigg Boss 11 picks pace (from October 1) we have a mini-recap and a list of winners from the previous season, who fought against all odds for months inside Bigg Boss' house - it' not easy.

Rahul Roy, Bigg Boss 1: Aashiqui star Rahul Roy was the winner of the first ever season of Bigg Boss on Indian television. The first runner-up was Carol Gracias while the second runner-up was Ravi Kishan. One of season 1's top controversial moment was when Bobby Darling complained after not being allowed inside the women dormitory - initially men and women dormitories were different. Season 1 was hosted by Arshad Warsi.


Ashutosh Kaushik, Bigg Boss 2: Ashutosh Kaushik was fresh from the success of reality show Roadies, which helped him defeat showbiz veterans like Diana Hayden, Rakhee Tandon, Monica Bedi and Payal Rohtagi. The second season was hosted by Shilpa Shetty, who won Bigg Boss UK version Big Brother.

Vindu Dara Singh, Bigg Boss 3: Vindu Dara Singh, son of actor wrestler Dara Singh, won the third season defeating Shamita Shetty, Kamal Rashid Khan, Claudia Ciesla, Poonam Dhillon and Sherlyn Chopra.


A post shared by Vindu dara Singh (@vindusingh) on

Shweta Tiwari, Bigg Boss 4: Two years after her ex-husband Raja Chaudhary participated in Bigg Boss, television actress Shweta Tiwari joined the game. The only difference - she won it too. Shweta was popular courtesy television shows Kasautii Zindagii Kay and Jaane Kya Baat Hui. The fourth season's finale has the highest TRPs the show's ever had. In Bigg Boss 4, Salman Khan joined as host and wrestler Khali joined a s wild card entry. The season is also remembered for the first ever wedding on television -Sara Khan married Ali Merchant on the show.


A post shared by Shweta Tiwari (@shweta.tiwari) on

Juhi Parmar, Bigg Boss 5: Kumkum star Juhi Parmar took home the Bigg Boss winner trophy in 2012. In this season Sanjay Dutt replaced Salman Khan as judge. Actors Shakti Kapoor, Pooja Bedi and Mahek Chahal also participated in season 5. One of the highlights of the fifth season was Sunny Leone's wild card entry. She introduced herself as a model from America. It was reported that her Twitter account gained as many as 8,000 followers in two days after she joined the show. After it was revealed that Sunny Leone is an adult film actress several political outfits criticised the Sunny's inclusion in the show. Sunny Leone also got her first film - Jism 2 - while she was still participating in the show.


A post shared by Juhi Parmar (@juhiparmar14) on

Urvashi Dholakia, Bigg Boss 6: Kasautii Zindagii Kay's antagonist Urvashi Dholakia also won the show like the show's heroine. She beat Navjot Singh Sidhu, Sana Khan and Aashka Goradia in the season. Exes Rajeev Paul and Delnaaz Irani came face-to-face on the show, which was a cause of constant tension. Salman Khan returned again.


Gauahar Khan, Bigg Boss 7: After much melodrama, Gauahar Khan was named winner of Bigg Boss 7. she started dating actor Kushal Tandon during the show and together they were up against Tanishaa and Arman Khohli. Gauahar and Kushal famously walked out of the show after an altercation with Andy, Tanishaa and Armaan. They returned to the show after a few days.

gauahar khan ndtv

Gautam Gulati, Bigg Boss 8: In this season, Gautam Gulati sort of dated Diandra Soares, who went bald on the show to complete a task and kissed him on live television which created quite a ruckus inside and outside the house. In this season, Karishma Tanna and Upen Patel also started dating. The show's format changed slightly and the concept of Halla Bol, based on Ultimate Big Brother, was executed. The Halla Bol sequence was hosted by Farah Khan.

gautam gulati diandra ndtv

Prince Narula, Bigg Boss 9: Prince Narula won three reality shows in succession in 2015 - Roadies, Splitsvila and of course, Bigg Boss. In this season, two couples Kishwer Merchant and Suyyash Rai and Rochelle Rao and Keith Sequeira had also participated in addition to Rimi Sen, Aman Verma and Yuvika Choudhary.


A post shared by Prince Narula (@princenarula) on

Manveer Gurjar, Bigg Boss 10: The last season of Bigg Boss introduced non-celeb contestants and if at that time someone thought that they won't be able to get votes, winner Manveer Gurjar proved them wrong. The show featured in several headline courtesy one contestant Swami Om, who stooped lower than anyone could think of. He was eventually kicked out of the show after Salman Khan swore to quit if Swami Om ever returned to the stage. Swami Om wasn't even invited to the grand finale.

bigg boss ndtv

Now that your crash course on Bigg Boss is done, get set for Bigg Boss 11.

Bigg Boss is based on the format of Dutch television Big Brother, which has been adapted by several other countries. This year, Telugu and Tamil versions of Bigg Boss also aired in India with Junior NTR and Kamal Haasan as hosts.