Opinion: Rafale Shows How Rahul Gandhi Has Matured As A Leader

Opinion: Rafale Shows How Rahul Gandhi Has Matured As A Leader

Swati Chaturvedi | Friday October 26, 2018

This is possibly the one issue where Gandhi has displayed heartland political smarts, hit the streets, used it as a hot button campaign issue in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh and, most importantly, set the agenda and the narrative.

Opinion: Why Indians Pay More For Petrol And Diesel - By Feroze Varun Gandhi

Opinion: Why Indians Pay More For Petrol And Diesel - By Feroze Varun Gandhi

Feroze Varun Gandhi | Wednesday October 24, 2018

India's long-term economic health requires a significant rethink on our current dependence on oil and gas, a shift to electric vehicles and solar-based electricity would go a long way in rebalancing our economy. We need to reconsider our increasingly car-driven economic system and pursue a whole-hearted shift towards mass public transportation. Without this, we will c...

Opinion: CBI's Skeletons Are Tumbling Out Thick And Fast

Opinion: CBI's Skeletons Are Tumbling Out Thick And Fast

Swati Chaturvedi | Tuesday October 23, 2018

The unprecedented big fight in the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI) between chief Alok Verma and his deputy Rakesh Asthana resembles the comic strip "Spy vs Spy" with tragic consequences for governance and investigation.

Opinion: As Trump Attacks China On Currency Policy, India Largely Spared

Opinion: As Trump Attacks China On Currency Policy, India Largely Spared

David Fickling, Bloomberg | Monday October 22, 2018

What's more notable is what wasn't said in the report, which tends to reflect how geopolitical considerations end up trumping raw economics.

Opinion: Why The Sabarimala Judgment Should Worry Freedom-Loving Liberals

Opinion: Why The Sabarimala Judgment Should Worry Freedom-Loving Liberals

Mihir Swarup Sharma | Sunday October 21, 2018

There is, especially to those who care about individual rights, something disturbing about this entire process. The "tradition" that bars many women from entering the temple is not of any great age, but even so, it has settled into the complex of beliefs held by worshippers of the temple's deity, Ayyappa.

Opinion: Flipkart Vs Amazon Sales Are Like India Vs Pak Cricket

Opinion: Flipkart Vs Amazon Sales Are Like India Vs Pak Cricket

Saritha Rai, Bloomberg | Thursday October 18, 2018

The importance of the clash between the two just ahead of the biggest shopping seasons of Dussehra and Diwali is hard to overestimate.

Blog: "No Ladies": The Perils Of Being A Woman Reporter In Sabarimala

Blog: "No Ladies": The Perils Of Being A Woman Reporter In Sabarimala

Maya Sharma | Thursday October 18, 2018

At Nilakkal, we saw a crowd shouting slogans, police standing by. A reporter from a Kerala channel called me aside. "Take off the press stickers from your car," he advised. "And the logo from your mike. And best not to go that side," he added - indicating the crowd.

Blog: At Sabarimala, They Turned Their Anger At Us, Women Journalists

Blog: At Sabarimala, They Turned Their Anger At Us, Women Journalists

Sneha Mary Koshy | Wednesday October 17, 2018

Sabarimala protest: In a situation as this, I and other women journalists get immense pride to report what is happening on the ground accurately. It is our job. There is no question of gender here.

Opinion: Tharoor A Good Hindu, TV Anchors Wrongly Target Him

Opinion: Tharoor A Good Hindu, TV Anchors Wrongly Target Him

Ashutosh | Tuesday October 16, 2018

Why is there such a hullaballoo over Shashi Tharoor's statement? What did he say that has the BJP/RSS so publicly pained? Why are TV channels going bonkers trying to paint Shashi Tharoor anti-Hindu? Did he really say something which is objectionable or is it another post-truth which needs no verification and authentication?

Opinion: Behind Saudi's Public Face, A Dark Side

Opinion: Behind Saudi's Public Face, A Dark Side

Karen DeYoung, Kareem Fahim, The Washington Post | Sunday October 14, 2018

When he hosted last October's glittering global investment conference in Saudi Arabia, Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman had the world at his fingertips. Thousands of investors, corporate chieftains and government leaders flocked to the kingdom to hear the charismatic young heir to the Saudi throne outline his plans for modernization of the reclusive kingdom, and to be...