This Article is From Sep 19, 2011

What is National Disaster Response Force?

What is National Disaster Response Force?
New Delhi: The National Disaster Response Force is a unit created by the government for the purpose of specialised response to natural and man-made disasters.

The NDRF works under the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) which lays down the policies, plans and guidelines for disaster management.

The NDRF consists of eight battalions of Central paramilitary forces - two battalions each from the Border Security Force (BSF), Indo-Tibetan Border Police (ITBP), Central Industrial Security Force (CISF) and Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) for the purpose of specialist response in disaster situations.

These eight NDRF battalions would be positioned at Arrakonam (Chennai), Mundali (Bhubneshwar), Greater Noida, Chandigarh, Barasat (Kolkata), Guwahati (Assam), Pune (Maharashtra) and Gandhinagar (Gujarat).

In addition, 16 Regional Response Centres (RRCs) of NDRF battalions are being set up across the country to enable immediate response to natural calamities.