Total 57 Rajya Sabha Seats, 16 Are Contested, Counting Delayed: 10 Points

The toughest contests are expected in opposition-ruled states like Rajasthan and Maharashtra, where both sides have corralled their MLAs to resorts to prevent poaching.

Rajya Sabha polls: The maximum seats, 11, are located in Uttar Pradesh.

New Delhi: The Congress has won three of the six Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan with cross voting by a couple of BJP members. One seat has gone to the BJP.

Here are the top 10 updates on this big story:

  1. The toughest fights are taking place in Maharashtra, Karnataka, Rajasthan and Haryana. The counting is yet to begin, with the BJP and the Congress in Haryana and Karnataka making a series of deputations to the Election Commission  over alleged cross-voting.

  2. In Karnataka, at least one Janata Dal (Secular) MLA K Srinivasa Gowda said he voted for the Congress "because he loved it". Additionally, there was uncertainty about one more vote. JDS chief HD Kumaraswamy alleged "horse-trading" and said, "30 out of 32 stood by us."

  3. In Rajasthan, cross voting and defectors have given an edge to the ruling Congress. The party is said to have received two votes from the BJP. Sources said the BJP MLA from Dholpur was caught cross voting and her vote has been held back by the poll observer.

  4. In Maharashtra -- where tough contest is on for the sixth seat -- 28 MLAs of smaller parties and Independets hold the key. The ruling alliance is in a tough spot with the bail pleas of two MLAs, Nawab Malik and Anil Deshmukh, being rejected.

  5. The opposition Congress is playing defence in Haryana where one of its MLA's vote was reportedly declared invalid while Independent MLAs voted for the ruling BJP.

  6. In one of Haryana's two seats, the BJP has fielded former Minister Krishan Lal Panwar, former Union minister Ajay Maken is the Congress nominee. Media baron Kartikeya Sharma is contesting as an Independent. Kartikeya Sharma has complained to the Election Commission asking that the votes of two candidates be declared invalid.

  7. Krishan Panwar, who is being backed by BJP's surplus MLAs and its ally Jannayak Janata Party, and Independents, needs only 4 more votes to win. The congress has 31 MLAs against the need for 30 votes. So any cross voting will be a challenge for Mr Maken.

  8. The polls were held to fill 57 vacant seats across 15 states. Of these, the BJP held 23 seats and eight were held by Congress. The rest were divided between the other parties.

  9. The maximum seats, 11, are located in Uttar Pradesh. It is followed by Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu with six seats each. Five seats from Bihar, four each from Karnataka, Rajasthan and Andhra Pradesh, three each from Madhya Pradesh and Odisha were also vacant.

  10. Besides, two seats each from Punjab, Jharkhand, Haryana, Chhattisgarh and Telangana and one seat from Uttarakhand are also vacant.