MCD Polls: BJP Likely To Win Over 200 Of Delhi's 270 Wards, Predict Exit Polls

MCD Polls: BJP Likely To Win Over 200 Of Delhi's 270 Wards, Predict Exit Polls

MCD Elections 2017: 54 per cent people turned up to vote today, nearly the same as 2012

New Delhi: 


  1. AAP headed for a rout on its home turf, according to exit polls
  2. MCD elections being seen as AAP government's report card
  3. BJP has governed the three civic bodies for a decade
Just like the recent state polls, the BJP could he headed for a landslide victory in today's civic body elections in Delhi, according to exit polls. The party, which has governed the three civic bodies in the national capital for a decade, is pegged to win over 200 of the 270 wards which went to polls today.

Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party, which won a massive mandate in Delhi in 2015, winning 67 of the state's 70 assembly seats, could very well be staring at a rout on its home turf this time. 

The Congress which hopes to resurrect itself in Delhi after multiple washouts, may not win significant seats as well, according to the exit polls.

As per the India Today-Axis exit poll, the BJP may get anywhere between 202 and 220 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party and the Congress will get around 23-35 and 19-31 respectively.

The CVoter-ABP exit poll says the BJP is likely to score 218 seats, and AAP and the Congress will score only 24 and 22 seats respectively.

These Municipal Corporation of Delhi or MCD elections were being billed as a report card of Mr Kejriwal's two-year-old AAP government in Delhi, as just days ahead of the civic polls, Mr Kejriwal suffered a big jolt when his AAP lost the Rajouri Garden assembly by-election.

54 per cent people had turned up to vote today, which is almost the same figure as the last elections in 2012, when 53.9 per cent polling was recorded. 

The Municipal Corporation of Delhi was trifurcated in 2012 into the North Delhi Municipal Corporation (NDMC), East Delhi Municipal Corporation (EDMC) and South Delhi Municipal Corporation (SDMC). There are 272 wards in the three municipal corporations. NDMC and SMDC have 104 seats each, while the EDMC has 64. All three have been ruled by the BJP since 2007.

With inputs from PTI

................... Advertisement ...................

................................ Advertisement ................................