This Article is From Apr 05, 2010

BJP gets majority in Bangalore Municipal polls

Bangalore: The ruling BJP in Karnataka on Monday captured the Bangalore city corporation for the first time, wresting the civic body from Congress in fiercely contested polls held last week.

Of the 198 wards in the Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) which went to polls on March 28, BJP captured 101, gaining clear majority.

The party is likely to further consolidate its position as results from 18 wards were awaited.

Congress won 61 and JD-S 13 while independents got five.

In addition to 198 corporators, a total of 52 elected members -- MPs, MLAs and MLCs -- have voting rights in mayoral polls.

BJP has 31 of these 52 members, including 17 MLAs in BBMP jurisdiction; the Congress has 10 MLAs and the JD-S one.

"We don't need a better example than this, that if you do good work, development work, people will bless you", an elated Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa told reporters, adding the citizens have given a reply to those engaged in "criticism and commentary" on the functioning of BJP in the state.

However, opposition Congress and JD-S said the ruling party always enjoyed advantage in local body elections.

Karnataka Congress Chief R V Deshpande said in such elections, legislators use influence and charged BJP with misusing power.

Elections to BBMP were held for the first time after 100 wards were expanded to 198 by merging seven city municipal councils, one town municipal council and 111 villages.