Nitish Kumar Leads Legislators In Mourning Deaths Of Train Victims

Nitish Kumar Leads Legislators In Mourning Deaths Of Train Victims

Nitish Kumar along with others legislators paid respect to the victims of train tragedy. (File Photo)

Patna: The two Houses of Bihar legislature today mourned the death of over 148 passengers, about three dozen out of them from Bihar, in the Indore-Patna express train accident on November 20.

On the opening day of the state Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council for the six-day long Winter Session, the members stood in silence in memory of the victims of the train tragedy.

Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav, Leader of Opposition Prem Kumar along with Speaker Vijay Kumar Chaudhary paid respects to the departed souls.

In the Legislative Council, Chairman Awdesh Narayan Singh, Leader of Opposition Sushil Kumar Modi, former Chief Minister Rabri Devi and other members mourned the death of victims.

The Legislative Assembly also condoled the death of former Governors A R Kidwai, Mohammad Shafi Kureishi and other past legislators of the House.


The House condoled the deaths of former MLAs Jawahar Paswan, Yaduvanshi Rai, Yuvraj, Ram Iqbal Singh Warsi and Amrendra Mishra.

Later the Speaker said he would convey the sentiment of the House to the families of all the bereaved.

The Bihar Legislative Council also stood in silence in respect of former Jammu and Kashmir Governor S K Sinha and soldiers who lost their lives on the borders in attacks from Pakistan.

Both Houses were adjourned after the obituary references to meet on Monday again.