This Article is From May 26, 2018

Karnataka Floor Test Highlights: HD Kumaraswamy Wins Trust Vote In Assembly

Karnataka floor test: The Congress and JD(S) combine have been assiduously guarding their flocks since the results were announced on May 15.

Karnataka Floor Test Highlights: HD Kumaraswamy Wins Trust Vote In Assembly

HD Kumaswamy won the trust vote in Karnataka assembly, 2 days after he took oath as the chief minister.

New Delhi/Bengaluru: HD Kumaraswamy has won the trust vote in the Karnataka assembly, ending the 10-day political uncertainty in the state. The BJP walked out of the Karnataka assembly minutes before the trust vote, throwing a dare at chief minister HD Kumaraswamy. "Let's see how long you last," said BS Yeddyurappa, as he staged a dramatic walkout from the House. The Congress and JD(S) combine, who together claim 115 lawmakers, have been assiduously guarding their flocks since the results of the assembly elections were announced on May 15 to prevent poaching by the BJP, which emerged as the largest party in the state but does not have the numbers to prove majority in the House.

But the BJP it seems hasn't given hope of forming the government. "We are 100 per cent sure we will be able to form the government," said Shobha Karandlaje, a BJP parliamentarian from the state and an aide of BS Yeddyurappa. Unable to garner the required number of votes to form Government in the state, Mr Yeddyurappa resigned just two days after taking oath as the Chief Minister. The BJP leader accused the Congress of hijacking the 'People's Mandate.

Mr Yeddyurappa had told NDTV afterwards that the JDS-Congress government  would not last "even three months".

Here are the highlights on the developments around  Karnataka floor test:

May 25, 2018 16:14 (IST)

Soon as HD Kumaraswamy won the trust vote in Karnataka Assembly, Congress posted a congratulatory message, "Congratulations to the new Congress-JDS Govt for winning the trust vote in the Karnataka Vidhana Soudha #CongJDSwinFloorTest" 

May 25, 2018 15:52 (IST)
Kumaraswamy wins trust vote moments after BJP lawmakers walk out of the assembly
May 25, 2018 15:32 (IST)
Mr Kumaraswamy moved the one-line motion soon after the unanimous election of Ramesh Kumar as the speaker of the assembly.
May 25, 2018 15:31 (IST)
BJP walks out of Assembly during trust vote
May 25, 2018 15:12 (IST)

  • It is true I spoke to some of your MLAs
  • I wanted to do it to make sure this unholy alliance doesn't come to power
  • Some of them came to my house
May 25, 2018 14:25 (IST)

  • Neither JD(S) nor any other party got majority.
  • I am hurt that people didn't choose me. I became CM because of coalition, not happy about the position.
May 25, 2018 14:22 (IST)
Yeddyurappa recognised as opposition leader in Karnataka assembly
BJP legislature party leader B S Yeddyurappa has been recognised as the leader of the opposition in the Assembly. 

Newly-elected Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar made the announcement shortly after his election as the presiding officer of the House.

 Govind Karjol would be the deputy opposition leader, Mr Kumar said.

May 25, 2018 13:58 (IST)
Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy has moved the motion of confidence on the floor of the House.
May 25, 2018 13:08 (IST)
Speaker's post is an apolitical one: Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara
"I'm thankful to the BJP leaders and S Suresh Kumar for having agreed to  the decision. We have seen you as a straightforward politician. You are a role-model and inspiration to all of us. Your earlier experience, we have seen you conduct the proceedings of the House with rules and regulations is a model for us, and for the entire country."
May 25, 2018 12:48 (IST)
May 25, 2018 12:47 (IST)
Kumaraswamy's speech in the assembly
"To all Opposition leaders, I want to express my gratitude to have ultimately decided to make it a unanimous election. It is quite rare to have a unanimous candidate like this

When Siddaramaiah proposed your name and filed the nomination yesterday, I should have been present too. Any doubts people had during this time, can now be set aside. The way you conduct the House to uphold the respect of the House, it is in the most fitting manner possible." 
May 25, 2018 12:32 (IST)
Mr Kumar was elected as Speaker after BJP withdrew S Suresh Kumar's nomination
May 25, 2018 12:28 (IST)
May 25, 2018 12:16 (IST)
Karnataka Chief Minister Kumaraswamy arrives for the floor test.
May 25, 2018 12:11 (IST)
Congress legislative party meeting is being held ahead of vote of confidence at Vidhana Soudha.
May 25, 2018 12:07 (IST)
BS Yeddyurappa has arrived in the assembly
May 25, 2018 12:05 (IST)
BJP has fielded S Suresh Kumar for Speaker's post

Apart from the floor test, elections for the Speaker post will be held today. The opposition BJP has fielded senior leader S Suresh Kumar as its candidate.

Suresh Kumar, a fifth term MLA from the city, filed his nomination papers before Assembly Secretary S Murthy at Vidhana Soudha, the seat of the state legislature.
May 25, 2018 11:59 (IST)
Congress MLAs reach Vidhana Soudha ahead of floor test
May 25, 2018 10:52 (IST)
May 25, 2018 10:41 (IST)
Kumaraswamy seen outside his residence. He is expected to sail through the floor test.
May 25, 2018 09:56 (IST)
Full 5-Year Term For Kumaraswamy Not 'Decided', Says His Congress Deputy G Parameshwara
A day ahead of the trust vote today, Karnataka deputy chief minister G Parameshwara said the Congress-JD(S) coalition was yet to discuss modalities about HD Kumaraswamy continuing as Chief Minister for a full five year term." 
May 25, 2018 08:15 (IST)
Mr Kumaraswamy has a clear advantage today given the strength of the JDS-Congress-BSP coalition in the House. While the Congress has 78 MLAs, Kumaraswamy's JD(S) has 36, and BSP 1. The alliance also claims support of the KPJP lawmaker and an independent.
May 25, 2018 08:08 (IST)
The Congress-JDS alliance has nominated Ramesh Kumar, a lawmaker who has presided over the assembly in the past, as its candidate for the assembly Speaker.

The BJP has put up former law minister Suresh Kumar for the post.
May 25, 2018 07:17 (IST)
Expect Karnataka Congress Lawmakers To Rebel, Says Yeddyurappa Aide
Short of numbers, BS Yeddyurappa may have quit as Karnataka Chief Minister two days after he was sworn in but the BJP it seems hasn't given up hope of forming the government. "We are 100 per cent sure we will be able to form the government," said Shobha Karandlaje, a BJP parliamentarian from the state and an aide of Mr Yeddyurappa."
May 25, 2018 07:16 (IST)
The BJP emerged as the largest party but is seven seats short of the magic number of 111.  Mr Kumaraswamy said the BJP had offered his lawmakers Rs. 100 crores and cabinet berths. The Congress released audio tapes of what it said were conversations between their legislators and BJP leaders. The party even alleged that two of its lawmakers were forcibly confined by BJP's Janardhana Reddy, the mining baron from Ballari.
May 25, 2018 07:11 (IST)
The Congress had released the audio tapes that Congress leaders had alleged, were evidence that BJP leaders including Mr Yeddyurappa had allegedly trying to bribe lawmakers to switch sides.
May 25, 2018 07:10 (IST)
The Karnataka Congress has made its complaint of the BJP allegedly trying to buy its lawmakers official. The party's legal cell on Thursday complained to the state's anti-corruption bureau against BS Yeddyurappa and five BJP leaders, accusing them of offering bribes to lawmakers of the Janata Dal-Congress alliance ahead of Mr Yeddyurappa's trust vote last week.

Apart from Mr Yeddyurappa, the Congress's complaint also names his son Vijayendra, BJP's national general secretary in-charge of Karnataka Muralidhar Rao, mining baron Janardhan Reddy, his close aide and lawmaker B Sriramulu and legislative council member BJ Puttaswamy