This Article is From Apr 12, 2017

In Srinagar Video From Sunday, Mob Smashes And Burns EVMs; Re-poll Tomorrow

33 EVMs were damaged by the angry mobs and 16 are still missing.

Srinagar: Fresh polling will be held tomorrow in parts of Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir, where a by-election on Sunday saw huge violence as mobs targeted polling booths amid a poll boycott call by separatists. They burned electronic voting machines or EVMs and clashed with security forces in at least 200 incidents of violence. Eight civilians were killed and about 100 security personnel were injured.

The by-election saw a voter turnout of only 7 per cent and the Election Commission ordered re-election in 38 polling stations across the Srinagar parliamentary constituency. The state government has said elaborate security arrangements have been made for tomorrow's polling.

33 EVMs were damaged by the angry mobs and 16 are still missing. In a video now being shared on social media, people are seen smashing an EVM to the ground, stomping on it and then burning it.

Another video from the same day shows locals rescuing poll officials from their vehicle after they met with an accident.

Voting tomorrow will be held in 16 polling stations in Chadoora, eight in Budgam, five in Beerwah, one in Khan Sahib and eight in Chararisharief. On Sunday, almost 70 per cent of the polling booths in Budgam district were abandoned by polling staff amid the violent protests.

The Army was called out to help quell a mob that threw stones and hurled petrol bombs to set a polling booth ablaze in Ganderbal district of the Srinagar constituency.

While the Election Commission ordered re-polling in the Srinagar booths, it postponed a by-election in Anantnag to have been held today to May 25, as violence continued on Monday, with mobs setting schools and government buildings on fire.

Tasaduq Mufti who is the ruling People's Democratic Party candidate for the Anantnag parliamentary by-election, appealed that voting be postponed. Mr Mufti is Jammu and Kashmir chief minister Mehbooba Mufti's younger brother.