In Andhra Pradesh by-polls, pro-Telangana TRS scores big

In Andhra Pradesh by-polls, pro-Telangana TRS scores big

TRS supporters celebrating party's win in the by-polls

Hyderabad: In Andhra Pradesh, the movement that demands a separate state of Telangana has got a big boost. The party that has led that movement, the Telangana Rashtriya Samiti (TRS), has won four of the seven assembly seats at stake. Voting was held on Sunday and results are being counted today. Six of the seven seats are located in Telangana.

The TRS is headed by K Chandrasekhara Rao, also known as KCR. It has defeated the ruling Congress party and main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Station Ghanpur, Kollapur, Adilabad and Kamareddy constituencies. Both the TDP and the Congress are accused by the Telangana movement of not supporting its demand of statehood.

The Nagarkurnool seat was bagged by N Janardhan Reddy, an independent candidate supported by the TRS. He was earlier with the TDP.

The elections were also positive for Jagan Mohan Reddy, who exited the Congress party to form the YSR Congress. His party's N Prasanna Kumar Reddy won in Kovur, the only seat the YSR Congress contested.

The BJP's Y Srinivas Reddy won from Mehbubnagar, the only seat it contested.

Results from other state assembly by-polls

The BJP lost the important by-election for Mansa in Gujarat to the Congress. The BJP had won this seat for the Gujarat Assembly the last four times.

Babu Singh Thakori from the Congress defeated BJP's D D Patel  by about 8,000 votes.

The Congress has bagged the Udupi Chikmagalur seat in the Lok Sabha by-poll with a margin of over 40,000 votes. The seat was earlier held by Karnataka chief Minister Sadananda Gowda.

The ruling United Democratic Front (UDF) won the Piravom by-election with Anup Jacob defeating his Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) rival by more than 12,000 votes.

Anup Jacob, 34, son of former minister TM Jacob, won over his father's old rival MJ Jacob by 12,070 votes.

Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won the Athagarh assembly by-election, defeating the Congress by over 47,000 votes.

Former sports minister Ranendra Pratap Swain got 87,604 votes over Congress' Suresh Mohapatra who got 40,214. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) stood a poor third (2,452 votes).

Swain had represented the same constituency for four consecutive terms, from 1990 to 2009.

Tamil Nadu
V Muthuselvi of the ruling AIADMK has won the Sankarankoil constituency seat for the Tamil Nadu assembly, defeating her DMK rival by over 68,000 votes.

Muthuselvi bagged 94,927 votes, the Election Commission said. The AIADMK has retained the seat.
More News