This Article is From Dec 16, 2018

4 In Race For Chhattisgarh Top Job, Name To Be Announced Today

Chhattisgarh chief minister: The Congress ended the BJP's 15-year rule in the state by winning 68 of the 90 seats in the state elections.

Name of Chhattisgarh Chief Minister likely to be announced today.


  • Rahul Gandhi met contenders for Chhattisgarh Chief Minister on Saturday
  • Announcement of name after legislative party meet in Raipur
  • Congress won 68 of 90 seats in the Chhattisgarh assembly elections

A day after Congress chief Rahul Gandhi met all the four contenders for the chief ministerial post of Chhattisgarh, the party is expected to announce the name of man for the top job today. Yesterday Mr Gandhi tweeted a picture with state Congress chief Bhupesh Baghel, Ambikapur lawmaker TS Singh Deo, the party's OBC wing chief Tamradhwaj Singh and former union minister Chandradas Mahant. 

"Around 12.30 pm today, after the legislative party meeting, the chief minister's name will be announced, TS Singh Deo, one of the top contenders told news agency ANI.

"Mallikarjun Kharge ji and PL Punia ji are arriving in Raipur later today. The name (of the CM) will be announced at the Congress Legislature Party meeting," said Mr Baghel, after arriving in Raipur today.

State Congress in-charge, PL Punia on Saturday said, "The opinion of all lawmakers will be considered. Governor has given us the time of 4:30 pm on December 17 for the oath-taking ceremony. So what's the hurry?"

As suspense looms over who would be the next chief minister of the state, Mr Deo, told news agency ANI, "We have more than one eligible name that is why process is taking time, in any case, final results came late on 11th so it has just been four days today. BJP which took more than seven to eight days to appoint its recent chief ministers. So the BJP should not comment on us."

Congress ended the BJP's 15-year rule in Chhattisgarh in the recently concluded assembly elections by winning 68 of the 90 seats.

The three Congress chief ministers will take oath on Monday. The Congress has invited leaders from across the political spectrum for the ceremonies that are expected to turn into a mega show of opposition unity ahead of the national elections next year.

(With inputs from ANI)