BJP Wins Hamirpur Assembly By Election In Uttar Pradesh

The Samajwadi Party came second while the Bahujan Samaj Party came third and the Congress stood fourth in the by-election.

BJP Wins Hamirpur Assembly By Election In Uttar Pradesh

The BJP won the seat with a margin of over 17,000 votes. (Representational)


BJP candidate Yuvraj Singh on Friday won the bypoll to the Hamirpur assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh by a margin of over 17,846 votes, defeating his nearest rival Samajwadi Party candidate Manoj Prajapati.

Mr Singh secured 74,374 votes, while Manoj Prajapati got 56,528 votes, the Election Commission said.

Fifty-one per cent polling was recorded in the bypoll held on September 23.

The by-election in this seat was necessitated due to the disqualification of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel following his conviction in a murder case.

Nine candidates, including the Congress's Hardeepak Nishad and Naushad Ali of the Bahujan Samaj Party, were in the poll fray.

Hardeepak Nishad got 16,096 votes while Naushad Ali secured 28,790 votes.

Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath congratulated Yuvraj Singh on his victory.

"This is victory of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's ideology of Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas," the Chief Minister said in a statement issued in Lucknow.