This Article is From Mar 25, 2015

National Awards: Kangana Ranaut Wins Best Actress, Queen is Best Hindi Film

National Awards: Kangana Ranaut Wins Best Actress, Queen is Best Hindi Film

Kangana Ranaut in a still from Queen

New Delhi:

Kangana Ranaut's performance as 'Rani from Rajouri' in the Vikas Bahl-directed Queen has fetched her the National Award for Best Actress, it was announced on March 24. (List of Winners)

This is Kangana's second National Award after she won Best Supporting Actress for her performance as a drug-addicted model in Madhur Bhandarkar's Fashion in 2008. Kangana, who does not attend Bollywood award shows (and wasn't present to collect the Filmfare prize for Best Actress she won this year), told NDTV yesterday that she had 'no idea' that she was in the National Award race but would accept it in person if she won. (Also Read: Kangana on 'Feeling Old,' Marriage and Possibly Playing Meena Kumari)

Queen also won Best Hindi Film. Best Feature Film was won by the multi-lingual Court.

Kannada actor Vijay won Best Actor for Nanu Avanalla Avalu.

Bengali director Srijit Mukherji won Best Director for the film Chotushkone.

The Supporting Actor awards went to Tamil actor Bobby Simha for Jigarthanda and Baljinder Kaur for the Haryanvi-language Pagdi The Honour.

Mary Kom, starring Priyanka Chopra, was named Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment. Director Omung Kumar told NDTV, "It's the biggest high anyone could get. I'm top of the world, a dream come true, my first film and this honour is overwhelming."

Haider scooped several awards including Best Choreography, Music Direction, Costume Design and Male Playback Singer for Sukhwinder Singh.

Killa was named Best Marathi Film, Harivu won Best Kannada Film, Nirbashito won Best Bengali Film and Othello Best Assamese Film. Bhoothnath Returns, starring Amitabh Bachchan as a ghost, received a special mention.

The National Awards will be handed out by President Pranab Mukherjee on May 3 in New Delhi's Vigyan Bhawan. Veteran actor Shashi Kapoor will also receive his Dadasaheb Phalke Award at the ceremony.