This Article is From May 27, 2014

This is Narendra Modi's Council of Ministers

This is Narendra Modi's Council of Ministers
New Delhi: Narendra Modi was on Monday sworn in as the 15th Prime Minister of India. A 45-member council of ministers also took oath, making it the leanest ever.

This is what Team Modi looks like:

  1. BJP president Rajnath Singh is the Home Minister and Mr Modi's number 2 in government. He took oath immediately after Mr Modi. (Pics: Team Modi - The New Cabinet)

  2. Next up was Sushma Swaraj who has been made the External Affairs Minister. She will be assisted by former Army Chief General VK Singh as Minister of State. The General, who is now the BJP's Ghaziabad MP, also has independent charge of North East Affairs.

  3. Arun Jaitley is the Finance Minister and will also hold additional charge of Defence. He is likely to be assisted in the Defence Ministry by Gurgaon MP, recently imported by the BJP from the Congress, Rao Inderjit Singh as Minister of State. Mr Singh is also expected to have independent charge of Statistic and Planning.

  4. Former BJP president M Venkaiah Naidu was the fourth BJP leader to be sworn in. He is expected to be Parliamentary Affairs Minister in the new government. Another former party president  Nitin Gadkari is expected to land a mega Transport Ministry. Sadananda Gowda is likely have charge of Railways.

  5. Former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Uma Bharti is Union Minister for Water Resources. Najma Heptulla has charge of Minority Affairs.

  6. Former Maharashtra deputy chief minister Gopinath Munde has been handed the Rural Development Ministry. Former UP BJP chief Kalraj Mishra has also been made a Cabinet minister. Maneka Gandhi will be Union Minister for Women and Child Development. Ananth Kumar is expected to hold the Chemicals and Fertiliser Ministry.

  7. Ravi Shankar Prasad is tipped to be Law Minister and also have charge of Telecom. Narendra Singh Tomar, Madhya Pradesh BJP chief, has also been inducted into the Union Cabinet. Jual Oram is expected to be Cabinet Minister for Tribal Affairs. Radha Mohan Singh a Bihar BJP leader will hold the key portfolio of Agriculture. Prakash Javadekar, senior BJP spokesperson, will be Information and Broadcasting Minister and will also head Environment.

  8. BJP general secretary Thawar Chand Gehlot, the party's Dalit face, too finds a place in the Cabinet. Smriti Irani, 38, who took on Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi in a spirited contest in Amethi in the general election, is tipped to be Human Resource Development minister. Delhi BJP chief Harsh Vardhan, who defeated journalist-turned-politician Ashutosh of the Aam Aadmi Party and former union minister Kapil Sibal from Chandni Chowk, is expected be the new Health Minister.

  9. BJP spokesperson Nirmala Sitharaman is likely to be the new Commerce Minister with independent charge. BJP Rajya Sabha member Piyush Goyal is likely to be Power and Coal Minister with independent charge. Party general secretary Dharmendra Pradhan is expected to have independent charge of  the high-profile Oil Ministry.

  10. Leaders of BJP's allies in the NDA were sworn in too. Bihar leader Ramvilas Paswan is likely to have charge of Food and Civil Supplies and Consumer Affairs; the TDP's Ashok Gajapathi Raju is expected to be Civil Aviation Minister. Shiv Sena leader Anant Geete has also been sworn in. Akali leader Harsimrat Kaur is tipped to be Food Processing Minister.