PM Tweets Rahul Gandhi, Virat Kohli, Karan Johar, Khans With One Message

Lok Sabha elections 2019: PM Modi tagged some of India's best-known names - Sachin Tendulkar, Ratan Tata, AR Rahman, PV Sindhu, Ranveer Singh, Vicky Kaushal and Deepika Padukone.

PM Tweets Rahul Gandhi, Virat Kohli, Karan Johar, Khans With One Message

Lok Sabha elections: PM's first appeal went to Rahul Gandhi, Ranveer Singh and many other people.


  • PM first tagged Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, Sharad Pawar, others
  • He tagged actors like Vicky Kaushal, Ranveer Singh, Deepika Padukone
  • He urged them to help bring more people out to vote in national election
New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi covered a wide spectrum of politicians, sportsmen, journalists and film stars -- from Rahul Gandhi and Mamata Banerjee to Virat Kohli, Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal -- in a Twitter blitz this morning calling on them to encourage more people to vote in the April-May national election.

"Many youngsters admire you. It is time to tell them: Apna Time Aa Gaya Hai and that it is time to turn up with high Josh to a voting centre near you," he tweeted Ranveer Singh and Vicky Kaushal, using wildly popular catchphrases from their blockbuster movies "Gully Boy" and "Uri".

The first of his 29 rapid-fire tweets went to bitter opponents - Rahul Gandhi, Mamata Banerjee, Sharad Pawar, Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav, Tejashwi Yadav and MK Stalin. PM Modi appealed to them to "encourage increased voter participation in the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. A high turnout augurs well for our democratic fabric."

In his next tweets, he tagged Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy and YSR Congress leader Jagan Mohan Reddy.

"A vote is a great way to make the people's voice heard," he tweeted legendary singer Lata Mangeshwar and composer AR Rahman.

For filmstars, the tweets referenced popular dialogues.



Former cricketers were also tagged.

"Come, it is time to inspire people once again, this time to vote in record numbers," PM Modi tweeted Anil Kumble, VVS Laxman and Virendra Sehwag.

The Prime Minister is one of the most social-media politicians in the world and has a massive 46.3 million followers on Twitter.

PM Modi is seeking a second term in the national elections that will be held in seven rounds from April 11 to May 19 across the country. The results will be declared on May 23.

Listen to the latest songs, only on