This Article is From Nov 11, 2020

Madhya Pradesh Bypolls: Jyotiraditya Scindia Scores, Congress Wiped Out

Madhya Pradesh Bypoll Results 2020: The BJP recorded clean sweeps in Telangana, Gujarat and Karnataka, as well as winning six of seven in UP and four of five in Manipur

Madhya Pradesh Bypolls: Jyotiraditya Scindia Scores, Congress Wiped Out

In Madhya Pradesh 22 of the 28 seats fell vacant after Jyotiraditya Scindia's crossover in March. (File)

New Delhi: The BJP today won big in bypolls across a dozen states, making crucial gains in Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh and scooping up key seats in states like Telangana and Gujarat. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in a series of tweets, thanked the people for choosing his party. Powered by Congress alum Jyotiraditya Scindia, the BJP won enough seats and more to stay in power in Madhya Pradesh. The ruling party also wrested eight seats from the Congress in Gujarat and retained six constituencies in Uttar Pradesh that went to the polls in the first electoral exercise held nationwide in the pandemic. Bypolls for 56 seats across the country were held on November 3.

  1. In Madhya Pradesh, where the BJP came to power on the back of Jyotiraditya Scindia's dramatic cross-over from the Congress, the party has won 18 seats and is leading in one. 22 of the 28 seats on offer here fell vacant after Congress MLAs loyal to Mr Scindia quit in March, triggering the fall of the Kamal Nath government. The BJP's strong showing will be seen as demonstration of the political clout that Mr Scindia still holds in the state despite his contentious switch. Mr Scindia has tweeted congratulatory messages to those who have won re-election and Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan has called on the newly-elected MLAs to "work for the people of Madhya Pradesh".

  2. The Congress has won eight seats in Madhya Pradesh and is leading in another. The win, though, isn't going to change the political equation in the state; the BJP remains comfortably ahead of its rival in the Assembly. "We accept the mandate. We made every effort to reach out to voters. I also thank all voters who participated in the by-elections," former Chief Minister Kamal Nath said in a tweet.

  3. In UP the focus was on Bangarmau - the seat held by the BJP's Kuldeep Singh Sengar; he was convicted in the Unnao rape case in December last year. Including this seat the BJP won six, with the Samajwadi Party of former Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav claiming the other. Mr Yadav told news agency PTI earlier that the Yogi Adityanath government had "made an arrangement so people could not exercise their votes". He had declined to give specifics saying "detailed information" would be given after the results.

  4. Yogi Adityanath reiterated the party's oft-used punchline - "Modi hain toh mumkin hain (If Modi is there, then it is possible)" and said "the BJP carries the trust of the entire country. And the people have applied their seal once again on this".

  5. The BJP has claimed all eight seats on offer in Gujarat - Prime Minister Narendra Modi's home state. Chief Minister Vijay Rupani called the win a "trailer for the upcoming elections"; the state will hold full Assembly elections in 2022. The bypolls were necessitated after sitting Congress MLAs resigned ahead of June Rajya Sabha elections. Five of the rebel MLAs joined the BJP and were fielded in these bypolls.

  6. A clean sweep was also recorded in Karnataka, with the BJP winning Sira in Tumkur district and Rajarajeshwarinagar, or RR Nagar, in Bengaluru. The winning margin in RR Nagar was over 57,000 votes. The bypoll there was needed after the disqualification of former Congress MLA N Munirathna; a two-time winner from this seat, he was among 17 Congress and JDS MLAs to resign and join the BJP last year, leading to the fall of the 14-month-old coalition government. In the first round of bypolls held in December, the BJP won 12 of 15 seats that were left vacant by the rebel MLAs, 11 of whom won then.

  7. The BJP also won seats in Manipur (four of five) and Telangana, where Raghunandan Rao tasted victory after three defeats, including the 2019 Lok Sabha poll, in the Dubbak constituency. The seat emerged as a high-profile fight between the BJP, the ruling TRS and the Congress. It is also only the second seat the party has won in Telangana.

  8. The Congress recorded wins in Haryana and Chhattisgarh, winning one seat in each state. In Haryana Indu Raj Narwal beat the BJP's Yogeshwar Dutt for the Baroda seat. The party retained the Marwahi seat in Chhattisgarh, which fell vacant after the death of former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi. The Congress also won two seats in Jharkhand, where it is in allied with the ruling Jharkhand Mukti Morcha. The other two were won by the JMM.

  9. In Odisha the ruling BJD has won both seats on offer - Balasore, which had been held by the BJP, and Tirol, which the party was defending. In Nagaland the ruling NDDP (Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party) won one seat, with the other going to an independent candidate.

  10. The JDU is leading in the race for the lone Lok Sabha seat for which bypolls were held on November 7 - Bihar's Valmiki Nagar constituency. The bypoll was necessitated by the death of sitting MP Baidyanath Mahto in February.