This Article is From Dec 28, 2014

12 Farmers in Vidarbha Commit Suicide In 72 Hours

12 Farmers in Vidarbha Commit Suicide In 72 Hours

Cotton farmers have been agitating for an increase in the Minimum Support Price of cotton. (Representational image)

Nagpur: In 72 hours, 12 farmers from Vidarbha region in Maharashtra committed suicide due to crop losses, Vidarbha Jan Andolan Samittee chief Kishore Tiwari announced today.

According to a press release issued by Kishore Tiwari, 12 farmers took their lives. All the farmers belong to the cotton-producing belt of western Vidarbha.

Saiyad Ansar Ali of Chikhalvardha village, Khushal Kapase of Dahegoan village, Punaji Manvar of Mangkinhi village, Someshwar Wade of Tamba village and Maroti Rathode of Nignur village, are all farmers from Yavatmal district who committed suicide.

Three farmers from Wardha district namely Madhukar Adsar of Pimpalgoan village, Vithhal Taywade of Deoli village and Maroti Gode of Pimpalgoan village, also committed suicide.

Two others, Shivanand Gite of Shivani village and Sunil Rakhunde of Gavthala village of Buldhana district as well asSanjay Dakhore of Regoan village in Washim district and Nilesh Walke of Gunji from Amaravati district also committed suicide.


Talking to PTI, Mr Tiwari pointed out that, farmer suicides are a serious issue in the entire Vidarbha region. The government should think about increasing the minimum support price paid to cotton farmers, he said.

The farmer suicide toll this month is 52 and since January 2014, Mr Tiwari said.