LIVE Udupi Chikmagalur Lok Sabha Results

Polling in the Udupi Chikkamagalur constituency was held on April 18 along with 13 other constituencies in Karnataka.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
Shobha Karandlaje

2014 Shobha Karandlaje

  • Shobha Karandlaje?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgBJP

Shobha Karandlaje

2019 Shobha Karandlaje

  • Shobha KarandlajeBJP

About Udupi Chikmagalur

Udupi Chikkamagalur Lok Sabha constituency consists of Kundapur, Udupi, Kapu, Karkala, Sringeri, Mudigere, Chikkamagalur and Tarikere assembly segments. Polling in the Udupi Chikkamagalur constituency was held along with 13 other constituencies in the state on April 18. A total of 14,94,444 voters were eligible to vote, among which 18,680 voters are in the age group of 18-19 years. A total of 47 third gender voters have also been registered to vote.

After its formation in 2008 following the delimitation law, this the third time the Udupi Chikkamagalur constituency will vote in Lok Sabha election. In 2012 there was a by-poll in which Congress leader K. Jayaprakash Hegde was elected to the Lok Sabha from Udupi Chikkamagalur seat.

In 2009 and 2014, BJP had won the seat.

This time too, sitting MP Shobha Karandlaje is contesting from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). In 2014 Ms Karandlaje defeated Congress contender K Jayaprakash Hegde with 5,81,168.

Ms Karandlaje holds MA, MSW. degree from Mysore and Mangalore University. She is also a member of the Joint Committee on the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Second Amendment) Bill, 2015.

Among other key contenders are P. Parmeshwara nominated Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Pramod Madhwaraj contesting with Janata Dal (Secular) party ticket.

Among the total 12 contestants, four are independents.

Shiv Sena candidate P.Goutham Prabhu will also contest for the Udupi Chikkamagalur Lok Sabha seat. Among other contenders are MK Dayananda (Proutist Sarva Samaj party), Shekhar Havanje (Republican Party of India) and Suresh Kunder (Uttama Prajaakeeya Party).

Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................