This Article is From Mar 03, 2021

AAP Wins 4 Of 5 Seats In Delhi Civic Bypolls, Says 2022 Message For BJP

Delhi MCD By Election Results: Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's party won Kalyanpuri, Rohini, Trilokpuri, Shalimar Bagh while the Congress secured victory in Chauhan Bangar.

Delhi Civic body bypolls were held on Sunday.


  • "People have shown trust in us again," Arvind Kejriwal said
  • "We are waiting for an opportunity to clean Delhi," he added
  • Delhi BJP chief Adesh Gupta said "we honour people's mandate"
New Delhi:

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party's win in four of five seats in Delhi civic body bypolls is a message to the BJP for 2022 elections, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia said today as he congratulated the party workers. The counting of votes, which began this morning, was completed a little before 11 AM.

Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal's party won four wards - Kalyanpuri, Rohini-C, Trilokpuri, Shalimar Bagh; while the Congress secured victory in Chauhan Bangar. The BJP, which had earlier held one of the seats, could not manage to win any of the five seats.

"I congratulate Delhi and our party workers. These results are a proof that people have shown trust in us, and the good work we have done. People have got so exasperated with the BJP in 15 years, they've given the party a zero. All around the city, the (BJP-ruled) Municipal Corporation of Delhi is responsible for the mess," the Chief Minister said this afternoon at party headquarters.

"Today's results predict what will happen next year. To our winning candidates, I will say, please stay humble. We're waiting for an opportunity to clean Delhi," he added.

In a tweet, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia had congratulated his party and wrote: "Congratulations to the Aam Aadmi Party workers on winning 4 out of 5 seats in the MCD by-election. People of Delhi are fed up of the BJP's rule. In next year's MCD election, people will vote for @ArvindKejriwal's honest politics." 

The BJP - a relatively weak opposition in the Delhi Assembly - has been controlling all three of the national capital's municipal bodies after the 2017 victory.

The bypolls, however, saw the AAP scoring an impressive win. In Kalyanpuri, AAP's Dhirender Kumar won by 7,043 votes and AAP's Vijay Kumar defeated BJP's Om Prakash by a margin of 4,986 votes in Trilokpuri. In Shalimar Bagh, AAP's Sunita Mishra defeated Surbhi Jaju of the BJP by 2,705 votes. The seat was earlier held by the BJP. Ram Chander of the AAP defeated BJP candidate Rakesh Goyal by 2,985 votes in Rohini-C ward, news agency PTI reported.

The AAP had controlled four of these five seats that were vacated after the sitting councillors were elected as MLAs. The fifth was held by the BJP's Renu Jaju, who died in 2019. The two parties had traded accusations of improper development in the city.

"We honour the mandate given by people. Losing Shalimar Bagh North is a matter of introspection. The shortcomings will be removed and I am sure BJP will win the elections for three municipal corporations in 2022," said Delhi BJP president Adesh Gupta. Responding to the results, Union Minister Prakash Javadekar today told reporters: "I just want to say... whoever had the seat got it back." 

More than 50 per cent votes were cast in the bypolls for the five municipal wards held on Sunday.

Today's win for the AAP comes nearly a week after the party's entry into Gujarat politics with 27 seats in the Surat Municipal Corporation.

Arvind Kejriwal, who is looking to expand national footprint, on Friday held a roadshow to thank the voters and supporters. He also gave a message to the BJP that retained power in its stronghold by winning 93 of 120 seats.

"If we are 27, they are 93. Numbers don't matter. Every man in our party is enough for 10 rivals. People of Surat have given you the role of opposition. Don't let them (rivals) do anything wrong," Mr Kejriwal told supporters in a show of strength.

The BJP, however, claimed Mr Kejriwal's party had lost deposits.

(With inputs from PTI)