Election Results 2014: States Swept Clean by Narendra Modi

Election Results 2014: States Swept Clean by Narendra Modi

People celebrate BJP's victory.

New Delhi: The BJP has crossed the 272 mark in the Lok Sabha on its own. Its stupendous performance has been propelled by the clean sweep, or the near clean sweep, effected by it in a few states. But Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Jammu and Kashmir, states ruled by other parties, have also registered dramatic results.

Narendra Modi's Clean Sweep States

  1. Gujarat: The BJP, led from the front by its prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi, has won all 26 seats. It had 15 in 2009.

  2. Rajasthan: The results in this state mark a continuation of the trend visible in the assembly polls held in December. The BJP is leading in all 25 seats - a dramatic reversal in its fortunes from 2009, when it could only win 4 seats. (India Votes 2014: Candidates)

  3. Jharkhand: The BJP had walked away with 8 of the 14 seats in 2009. It has now won 12 of the 14 seats. Its impact will be felt in the assembly elections, due later this year.

  4. Chhattisgarh: In the assembly elections held late last year, the BJP could barely get a wafer thin majority. It has now won 10 of the 11 seats, the same as in 2009. (India Votes 2014: Personalities)

  5. Delhi: The BJP had drawn a blank in 2009. It has won all seven seats. The outcome is certain to have a bearing in the assembly polls, likely to be held soon. (India Votes 2014: Party Wise Results)

  6. Uttarakhand: Another state where the BJP is witnessing a dramatic turnaround in its fortunes. It had failed to open its account in 2009. Here also all five seats have gone to the BJP. (India Votes 2014: Track Your Constituency)

  7. Goa: The BJP won both the constituencies. It emerged victorious in one in 2009.

  8. Tamil Nadu: J Jayalalithaa's AIADMK has swept a startling 37 of the 39 parliamentary constituencies. It had won only 9 seats five years ago. (Jayalalithaa Has a Whopping 37 Seats That Narendra Modi Does Not Need

  9. West Bengal: Mamata Banerjee's Trinamool Congress also swept 34 of the 42 seats. Her party had cornered 19 seats in 2009 in alliance with the Congress. The Trinamool Congress has now gone solo. (India Votes 2014: Personalities)

  10. Tripura: The only state where the Left Front has managed to retain its base. Thanks to chief minister Manik Sarkar's popularity, the CPM has won both the seats.

  11. Madhya Pradesh: BJP has won a high total of 27 seats of the total 29 from the state. It had won 16 seats five years ago.

  12. Jammu and Kashmir: In 2009, the Congress had walked away with two seats, and its ally, National Conference, another three. The two parties are headed for a wash-out, with the BJP wresting three, and Mehbooba Mufti's People's Democratic Party the remaining three.

  13. Himachal Pradesh: Another state where the BJP has made a clean sweep. It has won all four seats. It had cornered three five years ago.

  14. Uttar Pradesh: No one would have imagined that the BJP would make a near clean sweep in this politically-crucial state. It has won 73 of the 80 seats out of which two have been won by Apna Dal, in its best-performance ever. In 1998, the party bagged 57 seats. But the tally included five from Uttarakhand, which was till then a part of Uttar Pradesh. In 2009, the BJP had secured 10 seats. (In BJP's UP Sweep, a Big Sign for India) (How Amit Shah Delivered Uttar Pradesh For the BJP)

  15. Maharashtra: The BJP-Shiv Sena alliance, which also includes three smaller parties, has wrested 43 of the 48 seats, a leap of 24 over its 2009 tally.

More News