Team Modi: meet the ministers

Ahmedabad:  Along with Chief Minister Narendra Modi, sixteen ministers took oath of office in Ahmedabad today. Five of them are new entrants to the council of ministers. They are:

Cabinet Ministers

Anandiben Patel:  Four-term MLA (1998, 2002,2007, 2012)and one of those closest to Narendra Modi. Minister since 1998. This time, fought the election from Ghatlodia seat of Ahmedabad, and won with highest winning margin in the state. In the last ministry, she was revenue minister.

Bhupendrasinh Chudasma:  Four- term MLA (1990, 1995, 2002, 2012). In the 2002 Modi government, he was agriculture minister. One of the few prominent Kshatriya leaders.

Nitin Patel: Four-term MLA (1995, 1998, 2007, 2012). He was minister in the Keshubhai Patel government. In the last ministry, he was urban development minister.

Saurabh Patel: Four term MLA (1998, 2002, 2007, 2012). One of Modi's trusted ministers. In the last ministry, he was MOS Industry, Petroleum and Energy

Ramanlal Vora: One of the major SC leaders of the BJP in Gujarat. He was education minister in the last ministry. Represents Idar seat of Sabarkantha district, and has been elected since 1995. Has been a minister since 1995. In the last ministry, he was education minister.

Babubhai Bokhiria: He represents the Porbander seat. This time, he defeated Gujarat PCC chief Arjun Modhwadia. He was MOS Fisheries in the 1998 Keshubhai Pater ministry. In 2001, Modi promoted him as Cabinet minister, in charge of the irrigation ministry. Has won three elections, in 1995, 1998, and 2012.

Ministers with MOS rank

Liladhar Vaghela: Six- term MLA. Earlier, he was with the Congress, and joined the BJP in 1998. This time, he won from the Deesa seat of Banaskantha district. In the last ministry, he was MOS labor and employment.

Jayanti Kavadia: Four-term BJP MLA, this time representing Dhrangdhra seat of Surendranagar district. First-time entrant to the ministry.

Vasuben Trivedie: Three-time MLA and has represented Jamnagar since 1998. In the last ministry, she was MOS higher education.

Parsottam Solanki: He has been an MLA and minister since 1998. One of the prominent Koli community leaders. In the current election, he defeated Shaktisinh Gohil from the Bhavnagar Rural seat. In the last ministry, he was MOS fisheries.

Govind Patel: Two- term BJP MLA, represents Rajkot South, and belongs to the Leuva Patel community. First-time entrant to the ministry.

Nanu Vanani: Two- term BJP MLA, represents Katargam seat of Surat. He is also a Leuva Patel. He is associated with the diamond industry.

Ganpat Vasava: Two-term MLA, represents Mangrol seat of Surat. This time, he defeated Tejas Chaudhari, son of former Congress Chief Minister late Amarsinh Chaudhari. He is a tribal leader. He was Speaker of the last Assembly.

Parbat Patel: He represents the Tharad seat of Banaskantha district. He is a Chaudhari Patel. Four-term MLA. In the last ministry, he was MOS health and water supply.

Pradipsinh Jadeja: Four-term MLA. This time, he won from the Vatva seat of Ahmedabad. In the last ministry, he was MOS Parliamentary Affairs, Law and Justice.

Rajni Patel: Two-term MLA. This time, won from Bechraji seat of Mahesana. He is a Kadva Patel.

Story First Published: December 26, 2012 12:39 IST

................................ Advertisement ................................

................................ Advertisement ................................