Opinion: 1 Woman MP, 30 Men To Consider Legal Marriageable Age For Women

Opinion: 1 Woman MP, 30 Men To Consider Legal Marriageable Age For Women

Priyanka Chaturvedi | Monday January 03, 2022

The Prohibition of Child Marriage (Amendment) Bill introduced in parliament in the winter session sought to increase the legal age of marriage from 18 to 21 for women in the country.

Opinion: The Viral Video Of Karnataka Women Shows Modi Should Worry

Opinion: The Viral Video Of Karnataka Women Shows Modi Should Worry

Rajmohan Gandhi | Monday January 03, 2022

Many will have seen that video from a Karnataka village where a couple of brave women ask vigilantes barging into their simple home to clear out. The vigilantes were "accusing" the women of singing Christmas songs.

Opinion: If BJP Is Allowing Hate Speech, Opposition Isn't Pushing Back Either

Opinion: If BJP Is Allowing Hate Speech, Opposition Isn't Pushing Back Either

Mihir Sharma, Bloomberg | Friday December 31, 2021

The north Indian town of Haridwar, where the Ganges River flows out of the Himalayas onto India's vast plains, has been for centuries a destination for pilgrims. For three days in December, it also played host to what the media has called a "hate-spe

Opinion: Deciding Who Should Get The Covid Pill Will Be Tough

Opinion: Deciding Who Should Get The Covid Pill Will Be Tough

Faye Flam, Bloomberg | Friday December 31, 2021

Scientists who've been reluctant to talk up any new Covid-19 treatment are suddenly using the expression "game changer" to describe the Pfizer antiviral pill Paxlovid. But the changed game will include rationing.

Excerpt: 'Madam Prime Minister', New Novel By Seema Goswami

Excerpt: 'Madam Prime Minister', New Novel By Seema Goswami

Seema Goswami | Monday December 27, 2021

Exclusive excerpt from 'Madam Prime Minister' by Seema Goswami

Haridwar's Hate Speeches Fit BJP Strategy Perfectly - by Yashwant Sinha

Haridwar's Hate Speeches Fit BJP Strategy Perfectly - by Yashwant Sinha

Yashwant Sinha | Friday December 24, 2021

What has provoked me to write this article? The immediate provocation is the speeches made in the 'Dharma Sansad'held at Haridwar between December 17 and 19 by the worthies who assembled there to save the Hindu religion.

Opinion: Modi's "Aurangzeb" Remark Reveals BJP's Only Strategy For UP

Opinion: Modi's "Aurangzeb" Remark Reveals BJP's Only Strategy For UP

Keshava Guha | Thursday December 23, 2021

The UP election will be one in which voters are not choosing between two different sets of answers to the same questions, but between two different sets of questions.

My Suspension As An MP Was Against All Rules - by Priyanka Chaturvedi

My Suspension As An MP Was Against All Rules - by Priyanka Chaturvedi

Priyanka Chaturvedi | Thursday December 23, 2021

I want to address the matter at hand and narrate my side of the story since this government is pushing a false narrative and is not ready to hear something that does not come from their end of the line.

Opinion: Omicron May Not Be The Final Variant, But It May Be The Final Variant Of Concern

Opinion: Omicron May Not Be The Final Variant, But It May Be The Final Variant Of Concern

The Conversation | Thursday December 23, 2021

It is controversial whether viruses are alive, but like all living things they do evolve. This fact has become abundantly clear during the pandemic, as new variants of concern have emerged every few months.

Blog: As Omicron Surged, I Was In A London Dorm

Blog: As Omicron Surged, I Was In A London Dorm

Ishayu Nath | Tuesday December 21, 2021

I want you to try and relate to me, and realise just how much worse it can get. I know there's not a lot we can do about that, but even if all it leads to is greater understanding and a collective effort to be safer, I think it's more than worth the

6 Seats To Jammu, 1 To Kashmir Is Unacceptable - by Omar Abdullah

6 Seats To Jammu, 1 To Kashmir Is Unacceptable - by Omar Abdullah

Omar Abdullah | Tuesday December 21, 2021

If these recommendations remain unchanged, we will announce our future course of action; needless to say, we will not put our signatures to a report that is so deeply flawed.

Blog: Leon Was A Miracle. Today, We Put Him To Sleep

Blog: Leon Was A Miracle. Today, We Put Him To Sleep

Swati Thiyagarajan | Monday December 20, 2021

I had such a good life with him in it, he gave me so much love and I had the best time as a human because he shared himself with me.

Opinion: Rahul Gandhi's 'Hindutvavadi' Remark Is Worth The Risk

Opinion: Rahul Gandhi's 'Hindutvavadi' Remark Is Worth The Risk

Salman Khurshid | Monday December 20, 2021

Rahul Gandhi perhaps wanted to underscore the essential debate and confrontation within Hindu society and did not necessarily want to draw other faiths into that dichotomy

Opinion: Centre's Hypocrisy In Raising Marrying Age For Women To 21

Opinion: Centre's Hypocrisy In Raising Marrying Age For Women To 21

Brinda Karat | Monday December 20, 2021

The central government is set to introduce a Bill to raise the marriageable age for women to 21 years. Given its majority in parliament, this Bill will probably become law. Yet there are so many important issues that require deeper consideration that

Blog: India's Risky Plan Betting On A Mild Omicron

Blog: India's Risky Plan Betting On A Mild Omicron

IP Bajpai | Sunday December 19, 2021

The party is over. Covid is back with a bang and we could be getting into a worse outbreak than summer this year.