Opinion: Should Sharad Pawar Replace Sonia Gandhi As UPA Boss?

Opinion: Should Sharad Pawar Replace Sonia Gandhi As UPA Boss?

Ashutosh | Sunday December 13, 2020

An interesting debate has raised its head this week. According to media reports, the anti-BJP camp is debating whether Sonia Gandhi can be replaced by Sharad Pawar as the chairperson of the UPA.

"A Farmer's Daughters Pulling His Plough Shook Me" - by Sonu Sood

"A Farmer's Daughters Pulling His Plough Shook Me" - by Sonu Sood

Sonu Sood | Saturday December 12, 2020

Exclusive excerpt from 'I Am No Messiah' by Sonu Sood.

Opinion: "Majority Victimhood" Runs Into Challenges - By Rajmohan Gandhi

Opinion: "Majority Victimhood" Runs Into Challenges - By Rajmohan Gandhi

Rajmohan Gandhi | Friday December 11, 2020

Can a government that parades its democratic credentials endlessly oppose a demand that the people must be consulted before drastic and dramatic changes are imposed on them?

Opinion: Why The Gandhis Must Go Now - by Ramachandra Guha

Opinion: Why The Gandhis Must Go Now - by Ramachandra Guha

Ramachandra Guha | Wednesday December 09, 2020

Their departure will increase our chances of rescuing what remains of the Republic from the ravages of Hindutva authoritarianism.

Blog: Rajinikanth's Finally In. Now, Who Will He Help - And Hurt?

Blog: Rajinikanth's Finally In. Now, Who Will He Help - And Hurt?

Uma Sudhir | Thursday December 03, 2020

"Even God cannot save Tamil Nadu if Jayalalithaa comes back to power," were Rajinikanth's thundering words in 1996. That played a significant part in propelling the DMK-TMC alliance to power in Tamil Nadu that year, swaddling Jayalalithaa in ignominy. That was also the inception point of what became not just a state-wide but national fixation over guessing when the ac...

Opinion: Why Protesting Farmers Are Unable To Trust Government

Opinion: Why Protesting Farmers Are Unable To Trust Government

Mihir Sharma, Bloomberg | Thursday December 03, 2020

The third rail of Indian politics has always been agriculture. While the economy has been partly liberalized since opening up to the world in 1991, the process has largely bypassed the three-fifths of Indians who depend for their livelihoods, directly or indirectly, on farming.

Opinion: In This Round, Amit Shah Seems To Have Scored Over Mamata

Opinion: In This Round, Amit Shah Seems To Have Scored Over Mamata

Swati Chaturvedi | Thursday December 03, 2020

The departure of leaders like Adhikari portrays Mamata Banerjee as a leader struggling to keep her flock together, unable to ward off the allure for her party members of the BJP. But if there is one thing she is known for, it is as a fighter. It would be foolhardy, at this juncture, to assume she is operating from a position of weakness.

Opinion: PM Modi's Farm Reforms Should Be Welcomed - Feroze Varun Gandhi

Opinion: PM Modi's Farm Reforms Should Be Welcomed - Feroze Varun Gandhi

Feroze Varun Gandhi | Thursday December 03, 2020

We must welcome the deep structural reforms instituted by this strong government under the leadership of the Prime Minister.

Opinion: Trudeau, Please Stay Out Of It. But At Home, Let's Fix The Problem

Opinion: Trudeau, Please Stay Out Of It. But At Home, Let's Fix The Problem

Priyanka Chaturvedi | Tuesday December 01, 2020

While his concern for rightful protests is touching, using India's internal issue to further his own place in his nation's politics is unfortunate.

Opinion: Trudeau Was Wrong. But Surprising Amount Of Support For Him

Opinion: Trudeau Was Wrong. But Surprising Amount Of Support For Him

Vir Sanghvi | Tuesday December 01, 2020

Justin Trudeau is of as much consequence as Justin Beiber. But the Indian responses to his statements have me worried.

Opinion: Why I'm Losing Hope In India

Opinion: Why I'm Losing Hope In India

Andy Mukherjee | Bloomberg | Saturday November 28, 2020

Call it buyers' remorse. Those of us who thought that muscular leadership would revive India's dream of mimicking Chinese-style double-digit expansion are not just disappointed. For many of my generation, our long-cherished hope for a better, greater India is all but gone. We wanted to trade some of our democratic chaos for a little bit more growth. We ended up with l...

Opinion: BJP's Sleeper Cells Are Active Again; We Know How To Handle It

Opinion: BJP's Sleeper Cells Are Active Again; We Know How To Handle It

Priyanka Chaturvedi | Saturday November 28, 2020

How to thwart the attempts of these sleeper cells is a special talent of the experienced leaders of the MVA government.

Blog: Now Showing, The Bigg Boss Of Hyderabad

Blog: Now Showing, The Bigg Boss Of Hyderabad

Uma Sudhir | Saturday November 28, 2020

If you thought Hyderabad is hosting the political version of "Bigg Boss", I won't fault you. When it comes to threats, vitriol and taunts, the campaign for the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) election is giving the popular reality show a run for its money.

Opinion: BJP's Giant Hyderabad Move - Why Now, Why So Big

Opinion: BJP's Giant Hyderabad Move - Why Now, Why So Big

Swati Chaturvedi | Saturday November 28, 2020

No election is too small to ignore. Not for the Modi-Shah version of the BJP. Each election is a chance to test, create or edge out allies. And to expand, expand, expand.

Opinion: The Centre Miscalculated Farmer Rage And Frustration

Opinion: The Centre Miscalculated Farmer Rage And Frustration

K.C. Singh | Saturday November 28, 2020

Farmers' protests over the hurriedly passed Farm Bills in the Lok Sabha's monsoon session have been brewing since September. The union government made half-hearted attempts to engage their leaders, failing initially when farmers' representatives objected to being received by bureaucrats and not the concerned minister. The distrust level worsened after the Akali Dal's ...