This Article is From Feb 12, 2020

Delhi Election Results 2020: The Mega Victory Of Arvind Kejriwal

Live Election Results: A string of AAP leaders, including Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, Atishi and Raghav Chadha, won their seats.

Delhi Election Results 2020: The Aam Aadmi Party returned to power in national capital (AFP)


  • The polls were seen as a direct contest between the AAP and the BJP
  • Exit polls have predicted another term for Arvind Kejriwal's AAP
  • Majority mark in the 70-member Delhi assembly is 36
New Delhi: Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party surged to power in Delhi for a third term on Tuesday , boosted by a massive mandate of 62 seats - just a shade lower than its record 67 seats of 2015. "I love you Delhi," the Chief Minister declared from the party office, predicting the beginning of a "new kind of politics" focussed on local issues and the government's delivery. The BJP, which ran a massive campaign under the leadership of Amit Shah built around the anti-CAA protests of Shaheen Bagh, received scant returns. The party was confined to a single-digit score, 8 seats, but an improvement on its 2015 tally of three. The opposition and AAP hailed the mandate as one against the divisive campaign of the BJP. Mr Kejriwal had steered clear of controversy, focussing instead on bread-and-butter issues like power and water, education, health and environment.

Here are the 10 pointers on Delhi election results 2020

  1. Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said the Aam Aadmi Party's victory signalled the victory of a "new kind of politics". "People of Delhi have given a message that they will vote for schools, mohalla clinics, 24-hour electricity and free water. This is a great message for the country," he said, addressing a huge crowd at the AAP office.

  2. Mr Kejriwal later held a roadshow, delivering on his promise to visit the Hanuman Mandir at the heart of the city. "Today is Tuesday, Hanuman-ji's day. Hanuman-ji has showered Delhi with blessings," said the Chief Minister, who was mocked by the BJP after he recited verses in praise of Lord Hanuman on live television. He had said he would visit the temple after the election results.

  3. A string of AAP leaders, including Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, Atishi and Raghav Chadha, won after a suspenseful phase. Manish Sisodia, who had a see-saw battle in his constituency, won by a margin of over 2,000 votes over his nearest rival, the BJP's Ravinder Singh Negi.

  4. AAP MLA Amanatullah Khan retained Okhla, where Shaheen Bagh and Jamia university - the hub of anti-CAA protests - are located, with a record 71,000 votes. Mocking BJP chief Amit Shah, he said "Okhla ki janta ne current laga diya, (the people of Okhla have given an electric shock)".  

  5. A number of opposition leaders have already congratulated Arvind Kejriwal, saying the mandate indicated that the BJP's brand of politics has been rejected by Delhi. "The BJP with all their might, money and agencies could not do anything. They have absolutely drowned, they have been pumelled. Across India, their empire is shrinking," Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said.

  6. NCP chief Sharad Pawar said the results marked "winds of change" in the country and expressed the need for regional parties in states to come together. "Today's result is not limited to Delhi alone as people from various states live in the national capital. There is an environment of change in their own states which they expressed while voting," he was quoted as saying by news agency Press Trust of India.

  7. AAP, which accused the BJP of polarising the voters over the Shaheen Bagh protests, said the results indicated that the "real nationalism is to work for the people". "Our victory will prove that real patriotism is that if you get the opportunity in politics, you must work for people. Work on education, hospitals... Delhi will prove that if a government works sincerely, then it can win," Manish Sisodia said.

  8. Maharashtra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray, who broke off his 35-year alliance with the BJP last year, said the mandate of Delhi proves that a country "runs by jan ki baat (will of the people), not Mann ki Baat" -- a dig at the monthly radio programme of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

  9. "We don't practice politics of hate. We believe in Sabka Saath, Sabka Vikas. A lot of things are said during the election according to the environment.We will introspect on the reasons of defeat," said stat BJP chief Manoj Tiwari, who predicted this morning that his part would win 55 seats. The BJP held a high-voltage campaign, pushing in its 270 MPs, 70 union ministers and state leaders to seek votes. Union minister Amit Shah contributed to the final push with a door-to-door campaign.

  10. Held in the shadow of the protests over the contentious Citizenship Amendment Act, the National Population Register and the National Register of Citizens, the two-month campaign has been divisive, with the rhetoric on a downward spiral.  "Goli maaro" slogans were raised at the meetings of several senior BJP leaders and the Chief Minister was publicly called a "terrorist" by a union minister.