This Article is From Jan 25, 2016

IIFA Utsavam: Rajamouli's Baahubali Won Six Awards

IIFA Utsavam: Rajamouli's Baahubali Won Six Awards

A still from the film Baahubali: The Beginning.

Hyderabad: Filmmaker S S Rajamouli's magnum opus Baahubali and Malayalam romantic drama Ennu Ninte Moideen won the Best Film awards at the first edition of IIFA Utsavam.

The two-day event honoured the best talent across Tamil and Malayalam film industries.

Of the 12 award categories, Rajamouli's Baahubali, a Tamil-Telugu bilingual, won six awards, including the Best Direction and Best Picture. (Also Read: Baahubali Secrets: What Saved Rana Daggubati From Wrath of Raging Bull)

The other awards the film pocketed include Best Supporting Role Male for actor Sathyaraj and actress Ramya Krishnan got the same award in the female category.

Baahubali also won awards for best Playback Singer Male and Female for Haricharan Seshadri and Geetha Madhuri, respectively.

Actor Jayam Ravi was awarded the Best Leading Role Male for his performance in last year's critically and commercially-acclaimed Thani Oruvan.

The Best Leading Role Female award was won by Nayanthara for her flawless performance in horror-thriller Maya.

For his impressive work in eliciting humour in horror-comedy Kanchana 2, actress Kovai Sarla won the Best Actor in a Comic Role award.

Roja fame Arvind Swamy won the Best Actor in a Negative Role for Thani Oruvan.

Young sensational composer Anirudh Ravichander won the award for best Music Direction for last year's blockbuster Kaththi.

Actor Dhanush was awarded the Best Lyricist for his work in his film Maari.

In the Malayalam film awards category, Prithiviraj's romantic drama Nenu Ente Moideen took home a total of five awards, including Best Picture.

Actor Prithiviraj Sukumaran and Paravthi won the best Leading Role Male and Female awards for the same film.

Lena Kumar, who played Prithiviraj's mother in the film, won the Best Supporting Role Female award, while Shreya Ghosal won the best Playback Singer Female award.

Filmmaker Lal Jose won the award for Best Direction for the film Neena.

Aju Varghese won the award for Best Supporting Role Male for his work in highly-successful film Oru Vadakkan Selfie.

Last year's widely popular blockbuster Premam, a coming of age tale, won five awards, including best Music Direction for Rajesh Murugesan.

Other awards for the film include best Playback Singer Male for Vijay Yesudas and Lyrics for Shabareesh Verma.

Vinay Forrt won the Best Actor in a Comic Role award for Premam, while act or Jayasuriya took home the Best Actor in a Negative Role prize for his work in Iyobinte Pusthakam.

At the award ceremony, special tributes were paid to late filmmaker K Balachander, music composer M S Vishwanathan and producer T E Vasudevan.

On Monday, the best talent across the Telugu and Kannada industries will be honoured.