IAF Commando Jyoti Prakash Nirala To Get Ashok Chakra Posthumously | Read

  • 1:13
  • Published On: January 26, 2018
Cinema View
Jyoti Prakash Nirala, Indian Air Force's Garud Commando who single-handedly shot down three terrorists during an anti-terror operation, will be awarded the Ashok Chakra posthumously on 69th Republic Day. Six terrorists were shot dead during an hour-long fierce gun battle in Chandergeer, a village in the Hajin area of Kashmir's Bandipora district on November 18 last year. Among the slain terrorists was the nephew of Lashkar-e-Taiba chief and 26/11 Mumbai terror mastermind Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi. Jyoti Prakash Nirala, armed with light machine gun, laid down his life during the encounter while shooting dead three Lashkar-e-Taiba terrorists despite being shot by the bullets. Air Force sources told NDTV that Corporal Nirala had retaliated fiercely. He will be the first Indian Air Force Commando to receive the award after his death.

Related Videos

Defending India, With Vishnu Som | Indian Defence Updates
May 10, 2024 10:56
On Camera, Lashkar Terrorists Who Attacked Air Force Convoy In J&K's Poonch
May 08, 2024 0:29
Air Force Chopper Joins Effort To Douse Forest Fires In Uttarakhand
May 06, 2024 1:22
IAF Deploys M-17 Chopper To Douse Uttarakhand Forest Fires
May 06, 2024 0:55
Terror Attack On IAF Convoy: Massive Search Operation To Trace Terroists Begin In J&K
May 05, 2024 0:43
Air Force Soldier Killed, 5 Injured In Terror Attack On Convoy In J&K
May 05, 2024 1:38
1 Air Force Jawan Dead, 5 Others Injured In Terror Attack On Convoy In J&K
May 04, 2024 3:12
Air Force's Sukhoi-30 MKI Touches Down On Agra Expressway
April 06, 2024 0:42
Air Force Aircraft Operate From Emergency Landing Facility In J&K
April 05, 2024 2:51
Pilot Ejects From Crashing Tejas, Parachutes To Safety
March 12, 2024 1:27
On Camera, Pilot Ejects From Crashing Tejas, Parachutes To Safety
March 12, 2024 0:07
1st Crash In 23 Years Of Its History, 5 Facts About Tejas Fighter Jet
March 12, 2024 4:27
Our Offerings: NDTV
  • मध्य प्रदेश
  • राजस्थान
  • इंडिया
  • मराठी
  • 24X7
Choose Your Destination