Uttarakhand Election Result 2017 Highlights: BJP Decimates Congress, Harish Rawat Quits


Uttarakhand Election Result 2017: Chief Minister Harish Rawat is trailing in Hardwar Rural.

The BJP won 57 of the 70 constituencies in Uttarakhand, reducing the ruling Congress to dismal 11 seats. Following the Congress' poor show, chief minister Harish Rawat resigned. Mr Rawat contested the poll from two constituencies, Hardwar Rural and Kiccha, but failed to win either. A party needs 36 seats to form government in the state.

Later, addressing the media, Mr Rawat congratulated the "Modi kranti (revolution) and EVM chamatkar (miracle)". However, he was quick to add, "I am not raising any questions" when reporters pressed him to elaborate on the comment.

Following the BJP's victory, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who reciprocated by tweeting "Long Live Democracy". PM Modi also praised BJP chief Amit Shah, party workers, state office beaters "for their exemplary work in taking the party to new heights". Asked about the BJP's chief ministerial candidate, Mr Shah said the party would call a meeting tomorrow to decide a chief minister for the state


Here are the highlights of the Uttarakhand assembly election result 2017:

Mar 11, 2017
17:05 (IST)
PM Narendra Modi responds to Congres vice president Rahul Gandhi

Mar 11, 2017
16:53 (IST)
Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi congratulates BJP and PM Narendra Modi

Mar 11, 2017
16:48 (IST)
BJP supporters celebrating after the party's thumping victory in Uttarakhand

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah congratulated party workers and thanked the voters of Uttarakhand for the thumping mandate. Mr Shah, addressing the media, said that the party would soon convene a meeting to decide the next chief minister.
Mar 11, 2017
16:17 (IST)
PM Narendra Modi tweets following the assembly election results

Mar 11, 2017
16:09 (IST)
Harish Rawat speaks to the media after his resignation

  • I want to thank the state election machinery.
  • A question I want to raise is how much money can the central leadership of a party spend in a state.
  • I also want to congratulate 'Modi kranti and EVM chamatkar'.
  • I am not raising any questions. I definitely don't want to confuse you.
  • I want to thank the media for their support in all these years.
Mar 11, 2017
15:45 (IST)
Harish Rawat resigns as Chief Minister after losing in Hardwar Rural and Kichha.

Chief Minister Harish Rawat tendered his resignation to the Uttarakhand governor today after he lost the elections in Hardwar Rural and Kiccha constituencies. The Congress also performed poorly in the state whereas the BJP has won a comfortable majority.
Mar 11, 2017
15:38 (IST)
BJP president Amit Shah addresses the media over the victory in Uttarakhand

  • First of all, my best wishes to one and all on the occasion of Holi.
  • Results for all states are almost out. They are very encouraging for the BJP.
  • In Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur and Goa, we will form the government.We thank the people of these states.
  • It is a historic mandate and we will be able to give new direction to the country's politics.
  • Today, everyone has to admit that Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the most popular leader since independence.
  • A lot of bad name has been given to the BJP and PM Modi. The results are a strong rebuttal to all those charges.
  • Politics of performance has taken centre stage. Politics of appeasement has been rejected.
  • Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand will come out of their sorry state of affairs.
  • BJP accepts the responsibility with humility.

Mar 11, 2017
15:28 (IST)
Outgoing Chief Minister Harish Rawat leaves for Governor's residence.
Mar 11, 2017
15:00 (IST)
BJP workers celebrate their victory in Uttarakhand and UP in Delhi.

The BJP has won a huge mandate in the states of Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh and it is neck-and-neck in Manipur and Goa.
Mar 11, 2017
14:40 (IST)
Chief Minister Harish Rawat loses both seats

The Congress was trounced in Uttarakhand by the BJP today, leading only in 13 of the state's 70 seats at 1.30 pm.
Mar 11, 2017
14:27 (IST)
BJP leader Yashpal Arya wins

Mar 11, 2017
13:15 (IST)
Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat loses both Hardwar Rural and Kichha

Leads at 1.10 pm show that the BJP has virtually won a massive mandate in Uttarakhand as the Congress has been decimated in the state. Chief Minister Harish Rawat won neither Hardwar Rural nor Kichha.
Mar 11, 2017
12:23 (IST)
BJP Mahila Morcha in Uttarakhand celebrate clean sweep

The BJP mahila Morcha celebrate the party's favourable trends in Uttarakhand.
Mar 11, 2017
11:50 (IST)
Congress usurped in Uttarakhand, BJP set to regain power

Trends seem favourable for the BJP in Uttarakhand as the party is all set to form a government. While the Congress now leads in 16 seats, it still trails the BJP. Chief Minister Harish Rawat is also leading in Kiccha.
Mar 11, 2017
11:28 (IST)
Mar 11, 2017
10:49 (IST)
Congress decimation in sight as BJP scores big in Uttarakhand

In Uttarakhand, bad turns to worse for the Congress as the BJP is all set to sweep the state. Uttarakhand witnessed its highest voter turnout on polling day and Chief Minister Harish Rawat continues to trail in Hardwar Rural and Kiccha.
Mar 11, 2017
10:36 (IST)
Trends show how people have taken demonetisation: Harsh Vardhan

Union Minister Harsh Vardhan equated BJP's leads in Uttarakhand as a referendum on Prime Minister Narendra Modi's notes ban

Mar 11, 2017
10:32 (IST)
All leads are in. BJP expected to sweep Uttarakhand

There is no stopping the BJP if current trends persist in Uttarakhand. As of 10.27 am, it is presently leading in 53 of the 70 assembly constituencies whereas Harish Rawat-led Congress is expected to win only 11. Chief Minister Rawat is trailing from his two seats - Hardwar Rural and Kichha.
Mar 11, 2017
09:55 (IST)
Harish Rawat trailing in Hardwar Rural, BJP's Yashpal Arya leading in Bajpur

Chief Minister Harish Rawat is also trailing in Kiccha as Congress stares at decimation.
Mar 11, 2017
09:46 (IST)
BJP marches toward comfortable victory

Trends at 9.40 pm suggest the BJP winning in 48 constituencies, Congress touches double digits at 10.
Mar 11, 2017
09:23 (IST)
Chief Minister Harish Rawat trailing in Hardwar Rural, Kichha

The BJP is presently leading in 32 seats whereas Mr Rawat's Congress is ahead in just five.
Mar 11, 2017
09:18 (IST)
Uttarakhand leads at 9.10 am. BJP marches forward

The BJP is ahead in 18 seats whereas the Congress is leading in just two.
Mar 11, 2017
09:04 (IST)
Uttarakhand leads at 9 am

The BJP is ahead in seven seats whereas the Congress is leading in three
Mar 11, 2017
08:57 (IST)
Chief Minister Harish Rawat trailing in Hardwar Rural

He is also contesting from Kichha constituency
Mar 11, 2017
08:49 (IST)
Early leads for Uttarakhand are in

As of 8.46 am, the BJP and Congress are leading in one seat each.
Mar 11, 2017
07:52 (IST)
EVMs being unloaded at a counting centre in Dehradun

Mar 11, 2017
07:26 (IST)
Visuals outside a counting booth in Uttarakhand

Mar 11, 2017
06:50 (IST)

No more content

................................ Advertisement ................................

................................ Advertisement ................................

................................ Advertisement ................................