Jagan Reddy Injured In Stone-Throwing While Campaigning In Andhra Pradesh

Mr Reddy suffered a cut above his left eyebrow.

The YSR Congress Party chief was campaigning on a bus as part of a yatra.


Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jagan Mohan Reddy has been injured after being hit by a stone thrown by an unidentified person while campaigning in Vijayawada.

The YSR Congress Party chief was campaigning on a bus as part of his Memantha Siddham (which loosely translates as "We Are Ready") Bus Yatra on Saturday. The stone hit the chief minister above his left eyebrow, narrowly missing his eye, and reports said that he needed two stitches. 

Sources from the party said the stone was thrown from a nearby school. "The attack is a conspiracy by the TDP alliance. (TDP chief and former chief minister) Chandrababu Naidu's nervousness is showing," said a YSRCP member. 

The incident was condemned by Chandrababu Naidu and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister and DMK chief MK Stalin.

Calling for an impartial inquiry by the Election Commission, Mr Naidu posted on X, "I strongly condemn the attack on @ysjagan. I request the @ECISVEEP to initiate an impartial and unbiased inquiry into the incident and punish the responsible officials.

"I condemn the stone-throwing on Hon'ble Andhra Pradesh CM Thiru @ysjagan. Political differences should never escalate to violence. Let's uphold civility and mutual respect as we engage in the democratic process. Wishing him a quick recovery," Mr Stalin posted on the micro-blogging platform.

A video showed Mr Reddy standing atop the vehicle and greeting crowds that had gathered by the sides of the road. The video then cuts to him holding his hand up to his left eye. One of the people who were with him dabs his left eyebrow with a cloth and the chief minister greets the crowd with folded hands before climbing into the bus.

He was treated inside the bus by doctors and then continued his campaign. 

Elections will be held for the 175-member Andhra Pradesh Assembly and the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the state on May 13. The YSRCP had won 151 of the Assembly seats and 22 Lok Sabha constituencies in 2019. This time, the ruling party faces a challenge from an alliance of the TDP, BJP and the Jana Sena.