Congress Announces List Of 27 Candidates For Goa Polls

Congress Announces List Of 27 Candidates For Goa Polls

The Congress has released a first list of 27 candidates including ex-CM Digambar Kamat.

Panaji: Congress today released the list of candidates for 27 seats for the upcoming Goa Assembly polls, retaining its six sitting legislators as nominees.

Besides the sitting MLAs - Digambar Kamat (Margao), Jeniffer Monserratte (Taleigao), Chandrakant Kavlekar (Quepem), Pratapsinh Rane (Poriem), Vishwajit Rane (Valpoi) and Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco (Curtorim) - the 21 candidates comprises both old and new faces.

Congress General Secretary Madhusudhan Mistry released the list.

Former BJP legislator Dayanand Sopte, who joined Congress ahead of the polls, would be contesting against incumbent chief minister Laxmikant Parsekar from Mandrem constituency.

Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) has already announced that they will field a candidate from the seat.

Goa Pradesh Congress Committee president Luizinho Faleiro has been fielded from Navelim constituency, which is currently represented by BJP-supported Independent legislator and State Fisheries Minister Avertano Furtado.

The list also includes former state ministers - Subhash Shirodkar (Shiroda), Ravi Naik (Ponda), Nilkant Halarnkar (Thivim) and Filipe Nery Rodrigues (Velim). All of them had lost their seats in the 2012 elections.

The first list of candidates also includes three women leaders.

The old faces who lost the previous assembly polls include - Manohar Shirodkar (Bicholim), Fransic Silveira (St Andre), Sankalp Amonkar (Marmugao) and Isidore Fernandes (Canacona). The new candidates include -- Vikesh Hasotikar (Pernem), Dharmesh Saglani (Sankhalim), Fransisco Jose Nunes (Dabolim), Gilbert Rodrigues (Cortalim), Wilfred D'Sa (Nuvem), Clafasio Dias (Cuncolim), Rosario Fernandes (Curchorem) and Shankar Kirlapalkar (Sanvordem).