This Article is From Mar 24, 2019

Election Updates: Akhilesh Yadav To Contest From Azamgarh, Azam Khan from Rampur

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will kick-start his campaign for elections with a mega rally in Saharanpur. Here are the Live Updates as campaigning for Lok Sabha elections 2019 begins:

Election Updates: Akhilesh Yadav To Contest From Azamgarh, Azam Khan from Rampur

BJP chief Amit Shah and other senior leaders will address Vijay Sankalp Sabhas at various places. (File)

New Delhi:

The Bharatiya Janata Party is expected to launch its campaign for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections through 'Vijay Sankalp Sabha' from March 24, says Union Minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi. He said BJP president Amit Shah and other senior leaders of the party will address Vijay Sankalp Sabha or "victory pledge" meets in different Lok Sabha constituencies of the country today and on Tuesday.

The Congress on Saturday night released its eighth list of 38 candidates for the April-May parliamentary polls with its leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge being renominated from Gulbarga in Karnataka and former Maharashtra chief minister Ashok Chavan being fielded from Nanded.

Meanwhile, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will kick-start his campaign for the Lok Sabha elections with a mega rally in Saharanpur.

Here are the LIVE Updates from Lok Sabha election campaigning:

Mar 24, 2019 19:20 (IST)
List of Congress's star campaigners

Mar 24, 2019 19:18 (IST)
Congress releases its ninth list of candidates

Mar 24, 2019 14:16 (IST)
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath addresses Vijay Sankalp Rally in Saharanpur.
Mar 24, 2019 14:07 (IST)
Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath offers prayers at Shakumbhari Devi temple in Saharanpur before starting his election campaign, reports news agency ANI.
Mar 24, 2019 13:51 (IST)
Aam Aadmi Party announced that it will contest three seats each in Uttar Pardesh and Bihar, and also introduced its candidates. In a series of tweets, AAP leader Sanjay Singh said that in Uttar Pradesh, the party will contest in Saharanpur, Gautam Buddh Nagar and Aligarh.
Mar 24, 2019 13:45 (IST)
The Congress has announced its candidates for nine of the 29 Lok Sabha seats in Madhya Pradesh, fielding former Chief Minister Digvijaya Singh from Bhopal. The announcement was made on Saturday night. 

Former Minister and Lok Sabha member Kantilal Bhuria was given the ticket to contest on Ratlam (reserved) seat. Meenakshi Natrajan will contest from Mandsaur, Ramu Tekam from Betul (reserved), Kavita Singh from Khajuraho, Kiran Ahirwar from Tikamgarh (reserved), Pramila Singh from Shahdol, Shailendra Diwan from Hoshangabad and Madhu Bhagat from Balaghat.
Mar 24, 2019 13:22 (IST)
Prime Minister Narendra Modi has forgotten about his bonhomie with "chaiwalas", is now remembering "chowkidars", and will focus on somebody else the "next time" for political gains, senior Congress leader Kapil Sibal has said, taking a swipe at the PM's ''main bhi chowkidar'' campaign.
Mar 24, 2019 13:12 (IST)
The Congress has announced candidates for all the five Lok Sabha seats in Uttarakhand. The party has fielded Congress general secretary Harish Rawat from Nainital, former MLA Ambrish Kumar from Haridwar, former Chief Minister BC Khanduri's son Manish Khanduri from Pauri, state Congress president Pritam Singh from Tehri and Rajya Sabha member Pradeep Tamta from Almora.
Mar 24, 2019 12:45 (IST)
Tour operators in Gujarat have come up with special packages for foreign tourists wishing to experience Lok Sabha polls-related events in the state during the campaign period.

From attending political rallies to meeting candidates, around 20 tour operators in the state will provide guided tours to foreign tourists under the unique initiative called 'Election Tourism'.
Mar 24, 2019 12:21 (IST)
The Congress Working Committee (CWC) is expected to meet in New Delhi tomorrow and is likely to discuss the poll preparedness for the Lok Sabha polls, party sources told news agency ANI.
Mar 24, 2019 12:19 (IST)
Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav's name does not figure in list of star campaigners for Lok Sabha polls.
Mar 24, 2019 10:41 (IST)
BJP president Amit Shah launches a #MainBhiChowkidar campaign on Facebook.

Mar 24, 2019 10:21 (IST)
Samajwadi Party releases its list of star campaigners: Akhilesh Yadav, Ram Gopal Yadav, Azam Khan, Dimple Yadav and Jaya Bachchan included in the list, reports news agency ANI. 

Mulayam Singh Yadav's name is not there, the report adds.

Akhilesh Yadav wll contest from Azamgarh and Azam Khan from Rampur, Samajwadi Party tweets.
Mar 24, 2019 10:20 (IST)
The ruling AIADMK in Tamil Nadu has nominated sons of its leaders including O Panneerselvam for the April 18 polls.

Among DMK's 20 candidates, six are children of prominent leaders while the AIADMK has allotted four of the 20 seats to wards of party leaders.

The two parties are contesting from 20 seats each, after having allotted the rest 19 seats among their allies. Elections to 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu are scheduled on April 18 in a single phase polling.
Mar 24, 2019 08:55 (IST)
Kanhaiya Kumar, the former president of the JNU student's union, will be the CPI's candidate from Bihar's Begusarai for the national election. This will be the firebrand student leader's entry into the electoral politics. The decision was taken by the Left on Saturday, a day after Mr Kumar was left out of the opposition coalition in Bihar. He will be joint candidate of the Left parties from Begusarai.
Mar 24, 2019 08:18 (IST)
BJP national president Amit Shah will address the Vijay Sankalp Sabha at 4pm this evening in Agra, Uttar Pradesh.
Mar 24, 2019 08:03 (IST)
The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) is expected to finalise seat-sharing with the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress in Jharkhand by today.
Mar 24, 2019 08:01 (IST)
The Bharatiya Janata Party-Shiv Sena alliance is expected to start poll campaigning in Maharashtra from today.