LIVE Shimoga Lok Sabha Results

Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency, one of 26 Lok Sabha segments in Karnataka, went to polls in the third phase of the 2019 general elections, on April 23.

  • Party
  • Candidates

  • Votes*
  • Status
*Provisional Data
BY Raghuvendra

2014 BY Raghuvendra

  • BY Raghuvendra ?downsize=120:*&output-quality=80&output-format=jpgBJP

B Y Raghavendra

2019 B Y Raghavendra

  • B Y RaghavendraBJP

About Shimoga

In the by- elections of 2018, BY Raghuvendra from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency with a margin of more than 40,000 votes. In the general elections of 2014, BS Yeddyurappa, former Karnataka Chief Minister, father of the incumbent Member of Parliament and veteran BJP leader, was elected from the Shimoga constituency with a margin of 3,63,305. Yeddyurappa was polled 6,06,216 votes while his nearest opponent, Manjunath Bhandary from Indian National Congress (Congress or INC) was polled 2,42,911 votes.

BY Raghavendra was first elected from Shimoga Lok Sabha constituency seat in the general elections of 2009. He received 4,82,783 votes. His closest opponent S Bangarappa from Congress was polled 4,29,890 votes.

In the general elections of 1971, 1977, 1984, 1991, and 1996 Congress candidates won from this constituency. In 1980 and 1989, Congress (I) candidates won the general elections from this Lok Sabha constituency.

BJP opened its account first in the general elections of 1998, when Ayanur Manjunath won from the Shimoga constituency.

In the general elections of 1999, Congress wrested back the seat when the former chief minister S Bangarappa won the seat for the second time.

In the general elections of 2004, Mr Bangarappa won the seat as a BJP candidate and he repeated fete in 2005 by-polls as a Samajwadi Party nominee.

In the general elections 2019, BY Raghavendra of BJP is seeking by election while Janata Dal (S) has fielded S Madhurbangarappa as the Congress-JD(S) alliance candidate.

There are 8 assembly segments from the Shimoga Lok Sabha Constituency. These include Shimoga Rural, Bhadravati, Shimoga, Tirthahalli, Shikaripura, Soraba, Sagar and Byndoor.



Election Results for Lok Sabha Election 2019 will be out on May 23. Get the latest election news and live updates on Catch all the action on NDTV Live. Like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram for news updates from each of the 543 parliamentary seats for the election 2019

................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................