Bihar Election Results 2020 | Vote Share


Region-wise Votes

Vote Summary

Change mapped against LS 2019
The three-phase elections in Bihar will be held from 28 October to 7 November and the results will be announced on November 10. The elections, the first major polls amid the coronavirus crisis, is being held with many changes, including an extra voting hour and mandatory use of masks and gloves for voters.

Nitish Kumar, who heads a coalition in the state with the BJP, hopes to win a fourth term as Chief Minister. He is being challenged by his former deputy Tejashwi Yadav, the joint chief ministerial face of the opposition alliance comprising the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD), Congress and three Left parties.

Nitish Kumar, 69, is also facing challenge from former ally, the Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), whose chief, Chirag Paswan, who has made it clear that his sole agenda is to oust Nitish Kumar and form a government with the BJP.

The Election commission has reduced the number of phases from five to minimise infection.

While 71 assembly constituencies spread over 16 districts will go to polls in the first phase on October 28, phase two, on November 3, will cover 94 constituencies spread in 17 districts. Seventy-eight constituencies in 15 districts will be covered in phase three on November 7.

Voting will take place from 7 AM to 6 PM instead of 5 PM. Covid-infected patients and virus suspects will vote separately while those in quarantine can cast their votes at the end of voting time.

In 2015 Assembly polls, JDU and RJD had fought the election together as part of the Mahagathbandhan and won 178 constituencies out of the total 243. However, differences emerged between the RJD and the JD(U) after 20 months and Nitish Kumar returned to the NDA in 2017.
................... Advertisement ...................
................... Advertisement ...................